Mark Seliger Photography
Mark Seliger Photography

Baseball Announces 2019 Team Awards

Holy Cross Athletics   05-22-2019

The Holy Cross baseball team has announced its team awards for the 2019 season, led by junior center fielder Austin Masel, who received the Hop Riopel Award as the team’s most valuable player.  

A complete list of the team award winners is below.

Hop Riopel Award: Austin Masel, CF
The Riopel Award is awarded annually by the Holy Cross Varsity Club to the Crusaders’ most valuable player. It is given in memory of Albert D. “Hop” Riopel was a 1924 Holy Cross graduate who earned a total of 11 letters in three different sports. He coached the baseball team from 1961-1966, posting an 82-43 record.

Masel led the Crusaders offensively in 2019 with a .312 average, 13 doubles, five triples and 31 RBI. He was named to the All-Patriot League second team.

Ray Dobens Award: Andrew Selima, INF
Presented by the Varsity Club, the Ray Dobens Award was donated by the Dobens family to memorialize the baseball great. This trophy is given to the Crusaders’ most improved player. Dobens was a 1929 Holy Cross graduate who was signed by the Boston Red Sox.

After recording just three at bats in four games played in 2018, Selima became a regular in the Crusaders’ order down the line in 2019, batting .263 in 31 games with five doubles and 14 RBI.

Ron Soucie Award: Ben Malgeri, OF
Created by his former teammates, Rick DeAngelis and Tom Kelly, the Ron Soucie Award is presented to the team’s rookie of the year.  

Malgeri was one of the Patriot League’s top rookies all season long, finishing the year with a .282 average in 53 games, along with 11 doubles, two home runs and 17 RBI.

Robert T. Curran Leadership Award:  Declan Cronin, RHP
Created by Rick DeAngelis ’70 in memory of Robert T. Curran, former baseball player, head coach and Hall of Famer who graduated from Holy Cross in 1948. It is given to the player or players who most exemplify the former “Son of Holy Cross.”

Not only did Cronin earn All-Patriot League first team honors during his senior season after posting a 6-4 record, 4.06 ERA and 61 strikeouts, he also showed great success off the field, earning a spot on the Patriot League All-Academic Team. Throughout his Holy Cross career, he has remained active in the community, and he also served as SAAC Vice President during his senior year.

Perry-Conlon Award: Liam Dvorak, RHP
Created by Rick DeAngelis ’70 for his former teammates Ronald S. Perry and James T. Conlon. It is given to the most outstanding pitcher on the Holy Cross baseball team.

Dvorak earned a spot on the All-Patriot League first team after he had a 6-5 overall record and 3.58 ERA in 75.1 innings pitched. His 83 strikeouts were the most recorded by a Holy Cross pitcher in a single season since 1925.




Launch Player
Holy Cross Athletics Moments: 2018-19
Holy Cross Athletics Moments: 2018-19
2019 Baseball Patriot League Semifinal Hype
2019 Baseball Patriot League Semifinal Hype
Softball vs. Lafayette Highlights (5/4/2019)
Softball vs. Lafayette Highlights (5/4/2019)