Men's Ice Hockey Announces 2018-2019 Team Awards

Holy Cross Athletics   04-30-2019

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross men’s ice hockey team has announced its team awards for the 2018-19 season. The awards were presented at the team’s annual banquet on Friday, April 26. The Crusaders also honored their seven graduating seniors: Tommy Nixon, Spencer Trapp, Johnny Coughlin, Michael Laffin, Peter Crinella, Jay Mackie and Mitch Collett.

The Most Valuable Player Award went to senior defenseman Johnny Coughlin, who played in all 36 games in the 2019 season. He recorded seven goals, and 14 assists for 21 points. Coughlin totaled 17 goals in his career, ranking second on the all-time defensive scoring list at Holy Cross.

The Glenn “Spike” Crane Memorial Award went to two players, junior forward Kevin Darrar and freshman forward Anthony Vincent. The Crane Award is given to the player who excels most in the little things and leads his teammates by example. Darrar played in 35 games in the 2018-19 season and tallied 13 points from eight goals and five assists. Darrar added two game-winning goals on the season. Vincent led the team in assists and ranked second in points, with five goals, 16 assists and 21 points. The freshman finished the season with a +9.

Junior forward Jack Surowiec was named the team’s Seventh Player Award winner. The Seventh Player Award is given to the unsung hero of the team. Surowiec played in 30 games in the 2018-19 season and tallied five goals and four assists.

Anthony Vincent claimed his second award of the night, receiving the team’s Rookie of the Year. Vincent ranked third among Atlantic Hockey rookies in points.

For the third-consecutive season, Spencer Trapp was awarded the Michael P. Quinn Defensive Player of the Year Award. Trapp ranked fourth on the team in points and second in defensive scoring. In 36 games played, Trapp posted six goals and 13 assists for 19 points. The senior defenseman finished with 68 points in his career, from 15 goals and 53 assists.

The team’s Most Improved Player went to Surowiec. The junior forward scored his first collegiate goal against then-No. 4 Massachusetts.

The Dr. James M. Stewart Memorial Coach's Award was awarded to Michael Laffin. The Coach’s Award is given for commitment, leadership, and performance. Laffin served as the team’s captain in the 2018-19 season. He appeared in all 36 games and recorded a team-high 10 goals. Laffin added eight assists for 18 points. In his career, he played in 143 games and scored 39 goals with 49 assists for 88 career points.

Mitch Collett took home the Academic Achievement Award for the third-consecutive year as a physics major. Collett led the team in points with 22. The senior forward scored nine goals and added 13 assists. Collett scored the Crusaders’ overtime game-winner at Air Force on March 1.

For the second-consecutive season, Tommy Nixon won the team’s Community Service Award for his efforts as the co-chair of Powerplay Points for Pink and co-Executive Director for Working for Worcester. Nixon played 11 games and recorded a .924 save percentage and 2.37 goals against average.

The program added the Outstanding Service Award, which was presented to two members of the men’s hockey program. Volunteer assistant coach Peter Cronin was awarded the Outstanding Service Award for his commitment to the program. Peter Van Buskirk also received the Outstanding Service Award, having served as the head coach of the men’s program for 10 years (1979-88; 1996-97) where he owned a record of 167-146-8. Van Buskirk recently retired from Holy Cross as the head coach of the women’s program.

Photo Gallery




Launch Player
Field Hockey vs. Lehigh Highlights (9/28/2019)
Field Hockey
Field Hockey vs. Lehigh Highlights (9/28/2019)
Field Hockey ALS Awareness 2019
Field Hockey
Field Hockey ALS Awareness 2019
Women's Soccer vs. Army/Senior Day Highlights (9/22/2019)
Women's Soccer
Women's Soccer vs. Army/Senior Day Highlights (9/22/2019)