Women's Track & Field Announces Team Awards & 2014-2015 Captains

Egetta Alfonso

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross women's track and field head coach Egetta Alfonso has announces the team awards for the 2013-2014 season as well as the captains for the 2014-2015 squad. Eight awards were given out to nine recipients, headlined by the Award for Excellence in Track, shared by senior Stephanie Okpoebo (Chelmsford, Mass.) and sophomore Caroline Carley (Barrington, Ill.). Six captains were named for the 2014-2015 season.

Okpoebo set individual school records in four events this year and was named Female Track Athlete of the Meet and first team All-Patriot League for her performances in the 60 and 200-meter dashes at the Patriot League Indoor Championship. Okpoebo set career-fastest times in the 55 (7.14), 60 (7.49), 100 (11.70) and 200 (24.05) this season. Carley also earned first-team All-Patriot League accolades for her first place finish and new Patriot League record at the indoor championship in the 1,000-meter run. Carley went on to be the only Crusader to post a first place finish at the New England Indoor Championship in the 1,000. She set career-best marks in the 400 (59.82), 800 (2:11.47), 1,000 (2:49.46), 1,500 (4:33.77) and one mile (5:08.85) this season.

The Most Improved in Track award went to junior Brianna Tabin (South Hadley, Mass.) who set a new Holy Cross school record in the 100-meter dash at the Patriot League Outdoor Championship with a time of 11.68 seconds. Tabin earned career-fastest times in 55 (7.22), 60 (7.65), 100 (11.68) and 200 (24.58) this season. The Most Improved in Field award was given to junior MaryGrace Brogioli (Wareham, Mass.) who participated in 12 meets over the indoor and outdoor seasons in her first year of collegiate competition. The junior improved her top distances from the indoor season in the long jump and triple jump by .34 and .40 meters, respectively, in the outdoor season.

Junior Abigail Mitchell (Manchester, N.H.) received the Libby McKee Award. Mitchell set a new school record in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 11:18.05. The Most Valuable Track Rookie was freshman Rachel Sowinski (Mountain Top, Pa.) while the Most Valuable Field Rookie was freshman Alexa Eldracher (Woodbridge, Conn.). Sowinski's top performance came at the Colonial Relays in Williamsburg, Va. where she finished first in the 1,500-meter run with a time of 4:46.63. Eldracher set a new school record in the triple jump with a distance of 11.31 meters.

Junior Sarah Dahlstrom (Southborough, Mass.) was named Most Valuable in Field for her performances in the pentathlon and heptathlon. Dahlstrom set a new school record in the heptathlon with a score of 4,289 points. Senior Emily Hughes (Milton, Mass.) was also awarded the Alan Halper Distance Award for her performances during both the indoor and outdoor track and field season as well as the cross country season. Hughes finished the cross country season as the top Crusader finisher in seven of the eight races in which she competed.

The 2014-2015 captains will include Dahlstrom, Mitchell, Tabin and rising seniors Fiorella Johnson (Redding, Conn.)Michelle McGahan (Acton, Mass.) and Emilia Sainato (Albany, N.Y.).

To make a gift to support the Holy Cross track and field team through the Crusader Athletics Fund please go here.