Women's Track & Field Competes In Day One Of New England Championship

BOSTON, Mass.­ Qualifying members of the women's indoor track and field team participated in day one of the New England Indoor Championship on Friday as senior Stephanie Okpoebo (Chelmsford, Mass.) led the way for the Crusaders after finishing first in the preliminary heat of the 60-meter dash and fourth in the preliminary heat of the 200-meter dash with times of 7.61 seconds and 24.52 seconds, respectively. Okpoebo will compete in the semi-final of the 60 and final of 200 tomorrow.

Sophomore Caroline Carley (Barrington, Ill.) finished second in the preliminary heat of the 1,000-meter run with a time of 2:56.30 while freshman Rachel Sowinski (Mountain Top, Pa.) also qualified for tomorrow's final with an eighth place finish and time of 2:58.55. Junior Brianna Tabin (South Hadley, Mass.) finished behind Okpoebo in the 60-meter dash, taking ninth with a time of 7.80 and qualifying for tomorrow's semi-final. Junior Emilia Sainato (Albany, N.Y.) also qualified for tomorrow's semi-final in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 9.16 seconds and 12th place finish.

Senior Sandra van den Heuvel (Nashua, N.H.) posted a 10th place finish in the final of the 5,000-meter run with a career-best time of 17:41.42. Fellow classmate Lauren Bellerose (Shrewsbury, Mass.) added a 13th place finish in the 500-meter dash with a career-best time of 1:18.92. Sophomore Catherine Gildea (Milford, Conn.) also finished 13th in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:18.20.

In the field events, junior Alexandra Parise (Pine Bush, N.Y.) finished 12th in the pole vault with a height of 3.35 meters, tying her career-best mark. Freshman Alexa Eldracher (Woodbridge, Conn.) took 12th in the long jump with a distance of 5.23 meters and junior Sarah Dahlstrom (Southborough, Mass) competed in the pentathlon, finishing with a score of 3,257 while taking first in the shot put with a distance of 11.61 meters.

The 2014 New England Indoor Championship will continue tomorrow, March 1, at 10:00 a.m.