Holy Cross Swimming & Diving Announces Team Awards

April 25, 2008

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross swimming and diving team and head coach Barry Parenteau have announced the end of the season team awards for 2007-2008. Parenteau has also named team captains for the 2008-2009 season.

Senior Chris Smith (West Haven, Conn.) and sophomore Maggie Gousman (Fanwood, N.J.) were given the Most Valuable Swimmer awards, while junior Brian Lasonde (East Longmeadow, Mass.) and sophomore Lauren Tatro (Charlotte, N.C.) received the Most Improved awards. The Outstanding Season awards went to junior David Drummond (Swampscott, Mass.), sophomore Ryan Boate (Pleasantville, N.Y.), junior Ian MacLaren (Cortez, Colo.), senior Rachel Quaden (Chelmsford, Mass.), sophomore Alisha Carrazza (Boonton Township, N.J.) and freshman Gael Carter (Tampa, Fla.).

The team captains for the 2008-2009 season will be junior Caitlin Duggan (Norwood, Mass.) and junior Dana Jorgensen (New City, N.Y.) for the women. Junior Rob Acker (Ames, Iowa), Drummond, and Lansonde will serve as the men's team captains next season. Diving captains will be announced at a later time.

Most Valuable Swimmer for the Men - Chris Smith
Most Valuable Swimmer for the Women - Maggie Gousman
Most Improved for the Men - Brian Lasonde
Most Improved for the Women - Lauren Tatro
Outstanding Season Awards for the Men - David Drummond, Ryan Boate, Ian MacLaren
Outstanding Season Award for the Women - Rachel Quaden, Alisha Carrazza, Gael Carter

Captains for 2008-2009
Men: David Drummond, Rob Acker, Brian Lasonde
Women: Dana Jorgensen, Caitlin Duggan