Swimming & Diving Announces Team Awards & 2014-2015 Captains

Head Coach Barry Parenteau

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross head swimming and diving coach Barry Parenteau has announced the men's and women's team awards for the 2013-2014 season, along with team captains for the 2014-2015 season. The teams held an annual banquet on Sunday, April 27.

On the women's side, freshman Colleen Harrison (Lake Forest, Ill.) was named Most Valuable Swimmer while junior Alicia LiCalzi (New Canaan, Conn.) was named Diver of the Year. Freshman Alicia Perry (Sudbury, Mass.) also received the Outstanding Season Award. Comeback Swimmer of the Year was awarded to junior Jennifer Gilbert (Libertyville, Ill.).

On the men's side, senior Jan Yburan (Livingston, N.J.) was named the Most Valuable Swimmer while fellow classmate Nick Videtti (Woodcliff Lake, N.J.) earned Diver of the Year. Five swimmers earned Outstanding Season Awards including senior Patrick Gibbons (Reston, Va.), sophomores Max Kearns (Marion, Mass.) and Tyler Wright (Waterboro, Maine) and freshmen Andrew Higgins (New Canaan, Conn.) and Alex Young (Natick, Mass.). Sophomore David Mullany (Monroe, Conn.) received the Most Improved Swimmer Award while senior Zachary Cietek (Guilderland, N.Y.) was named Comeback Swimmer of the Year.

Rising seniors Kristie Coleman (Brooklyn, N.Y.), Gilbert, Mary Kate Schulte (Des Moines, Iowa) and Anna Villani (Hanover, Mass.) will serve as captains for the women's team in 2014-2015, while rising seniors Thomas Horigan (West Hartford, Conn.), Michael Noone (Stamford, Conn.) and Jack Swain (West Hartford, Conn.) will serve as next year's captains for the men's swimming team. Rising senior Brendan Higgins (Summit, N.J.) will also serve as the men's diving captain.