Softball Places Five On All-Patriot League Teams

Keeley Seniuk

WORCESTER, Mass. – Five members of the Holy Cross softball team have been named to All-Patriot League teams, announced today by the league. Senior Keeley Seniuk (Phoenix, Ariz.) and sophomore Sam Fregenti (Melville, N.Y.) were selected first team All-Patriot League, while senior Caitlin Belanger (Fall River, Mass.), senior Tiffany Medwid (Imperial, Pa.) and junior Gwen Reimer (Pottsville, Pa.) were named to the second team. Head Coach Brian Claypool was selected as Patriot League Coach of the Year.

Holy Cross, which enters the Patriot League Tournament as the third seed, coincidentally collected the third-highest number of All-League selections with five. Seniuk (.340, 5 HR, 31 RBI) became a three-time All-Leaguer with her first placement on the first team as an outfielder, while Fregenti (.358, 9 HR, 31 RBI) garnered first-team accolades for the second straight year as a designated player. Belanger (second base) and Medwid (shortstop) made the second team, along with Reimer (.315, 25 RBI, 14 2B) at first base. Medwid and Belanger both were second-team All-League honorees a year ago, while Reimer earns the laurel for the first time in her career. Belanger is currently second in the league hitting .382 with a pair of home runs and 15 RBI, while Medwid has 12 RBI and 17 steals.

Claypool, in his fourth season at Holy Cross and eighth overall as a head coach, has led the Crusaders to their first appearance in the Patriot League Tournament since 2003. Holy Cross was selected to finish fifth when the preseason poll was conducted in February. It's the fourth Coach of the Year nod for a Crusader and first since 2001. Bob Neville was named to the award that year and also in 1998, while Fran Dyson garnered the nod in 1995. With a 10-10 mark during the regular season, the Crusaders finished with their best record against league opponents in eight years.

Holy Cross (18-29 overall, 10-10 Patriot League) kicks off postseason play at the Patriot League Tournament on May 12. The Crusaders earned the No. 3 seed and will play No. 2 Lehigh in the opening game of the tournament at 2:00 p.m. Regular-season champion, Colgate, earned the No. 1 seed and hosting responsibilities. The Raiders will play No. 4 Army in the nightcap at 4:30 p.m.

First Team All-Patriot League
1B – Julie Fernandez, Lehigh, Jr.
2B – Alex Reynolds, Army, So.
3B – Alison Ford, Bucknell, Sr.
SS – Jen Colquhoun, Lehigh, Jr.
OF – Amanda Nguyen, Army, Fr.
OF – Tera Vaughn, Colgate, Fr.
OF – Keeley Seniuk, Holy Cross, Sr.
C – Liz Lucas, Lehigh, So.
UT – Stacey Kushner, Lafayette, Sr.
DP – Sam Fregenti, Holy Cross, So.
P – Rachel LeCoq, Colgate, Fr.
P – Rebecca Bliss, Lehigh, So.

Second Team All-Patriot League
1B – Gwen Reimer, Holy Cross, Jr.
2B – Caitlin Belanger, Holy Cross, Sr.
3B – Stephanie Hartquist, Colgate, Jr.
SS – Tiffany Medwid, Holy Cross, Sr.
OF – Alana Dyson, Colgate, So.
OF – Audra Wood, Lehigh, Jr.
OF – Carly Potock, Lehigh, Sr.
C – Nicole Siedhof, Colgate, Sr.
P – Melissa Robinson, Lafayette, Fr.
P – Courtney O'Connell, Colgate, So.
P – Haley Pypes, Army, Fr.

Player of the Year – Alison Ford, Bucknell, Sr.
Pitcher of the Year – Rachel LeCoq, Colgate, Fr.
Rookie of the Year – Tera Vaughn, Colgate, Fr.
Coach of the Year – Brian Claypool, Holy Cross