2002 Varsity Eight Inducted To Holy Cross Hall Of Fame

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross Varsity Club has announced the 2013 selections for induction into the Holy Cross Athletic Hall of Fame. Included among the 2013 inductees is the 2002 Women's Varsity Eight.

The 2002 Varsity Eight had one of the most successful seasons in the history of women's rowing at Holy Cross. After winning the Textile River Regatta and the New Hampshire Championship Regatta in the fall portion of its schedule, the boat posted an undefeated regular season in the spring. The Crusaders then went on to capture first place at the Patriot Regatta and third place at the New England Championship, before earning a first place finish out of 24 schools at the ECAC National Invitational Regatta. The boat was comprised of Lizzie McCawley, Rebecca Smith, Marie Golden, Maura Droney, Cathy Eberl, Dana Betts, Angela Archambault, Melissa Irving, Bridget Biggins and Madeline Chiampou.

This year's other inductees are Bob Credle (Class of 1965, cross country, track and field), Kevin Hamilton (Class of 2006, basketball), Annie Lavigne (Class of 2001, field hockey), Tyler McGregor (Class of 2006, ice hockey) and Jack Whalen (Class of 1962, football, lacrosse).

These new honorees will be formally inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 4, at the Varsity Club's annual dinner, to be held in the Hogan Campus Center.