Women's Rowing Places Second Out Of 27 Teams At New England Championship

Beth Charron

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross women's rowing team placed second out of 27 teams at the 2012 New England Championship on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday with a total of 75.7 points. Williams won the title with 102 points. The second varsity eight and second varsity four each placed second earning silver medals, while the varsity eight won bronze by finishing third.

The varsity eight placed second in its heat with a time of 6:43.954. Bates won the heat with a time of 6:39.293. Williams (6:45.314) won the finals followed by Bates (6:55.289), Holy Cross (7:02.015), Wellesley (7:03.243), Coast Guard (7:04.301) and Trinity (7:10.080).

The second varsity eight won its heat with a time of 7:06.965. Williams then won the gold medal with a time of 7:02.457, while the Crusaders (7:10.727) placed second, Bates (7:13.399) finished third, Trinity (7:16.149) placed fourth, Wesleyan (7:26.230) finished fifth and New Hampshire (7:32.253) placed sixth.

The second varsity four placed second in its heat with a time of 8:22.365 as Trinity won with a time of 8:17.010. Bowdoin then won the title with a time of 7:55.911, while the Crusaders (7:58.295) placed second, Trinity (8:03.289) placed third, Colby (8:10.268) placed fourth, Connecticut College (8:12.619) placed fifth and Wellesley (8:12.885) placed sixth.

The novice eight placed fourth in its heat with a time of 7:49.510 as Williams won with a time of 7:11.758. Coast Guard won the petite finals with a time of 7:36.540, while the Crusaders (7:47.125) placed second, Tufts "B" (7:52.547) placed third and Smith "B" placed fourth (7:59.821).      

The Crusaders return to action when they compete at the Eastern Sprints on Sunday, May 13, in Camden, N.J., on the Cooper River.

Holy Cross varsity eight: Amanda Woodgate (coxswain), Aleks Torres, Kate Broderick, Catherine Roy, Meaghan Pedlow, Mollie Sydlowski, Beth Charron, Kate Diggins, Jackie Hanna.

Holy Cross second varsity eight: Kristina Giangrande (coxswain), Bridget Schirripa, Lauren Carlo, Kelsey Marakovits, Simone Blanchard, Jackie Esperti, Adrienne Randall, Abbey Wilkman, Sally Quinn.

Holy Cross varsity four: Jill Sollazzo (coxswain), Elizabeth Tobey, Samantha Granison, Ali Finn, Kiley McLean.

Holy Cross novice eight: Marissa Solberg (coxswain), Shalynn Doherty, Eugenia Minondo, Lauren Connolly, Kathleen O'Hara, Casey Donahoe, Maggie Casey, Sarah Moroz, Siena Repetti Schmitt.