Women's Ice Hockey Announces Team Awards

Kathryn O'Connor

April 7, 2009

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross head women's ice hockey coach Peter Van Buskirk has announced team awards for the 2008-2009 season, along with captains for the 2009-2010 season. The Crusaders held a year end awards banquet on Monday, April 6 and team awards were voted on by the student-athletes.

Sophomore Jocelyn Kratchmer (Watrous, Saskatchewan) and freshman Stacey Hochkins (New Boston, Mich.) were named the most valuable players for the 2008-2009 season. Kratchmer and Hochkins combined to lead the Crusaders to a school-record 24 victories. Hochkins finished the season with a school-record 53 points, leading the ECAC East in points, goals and assists. Kratchmer finished the season with 46 points, the second most in the ECAC East.

Sophomore goalkeeper Lindsay Atkinson (Westbank, British Columbia) received the seventh man award. Atkinson played in 11 games for the Crusaders, going a perfect 11-0-0 and leading the ECAC East in goals against average, save percentage and winning percentage.

Senior Stephanie Couzin (Chicago, Ill.) was honored with the Reverend Francis Hart award for commitment, leadership and performance. Couzin completes her career at Holy Cross with 93 points, ranking her fifth all-time, her 46 goals ranks her third, her 47 assists are sixth and her 19 power play goals are third.

Juniors Lisa Wilson (Corunna, Ontario) and Kathryn O'Connor (Brookfield, Conn.) will serve as co-captains for the 2009-2020 season. Wilson served as a captain during the 2008-2009 season and was named to the second team All-ECAC East. O'Connor played in all 27 games for the Crusaders last season, recording 10 goals and five assists for 15 points.

Most Valuable Player: Jocelyn Kratchmer and Stacey Hochkins
Seventh Man: Lindsay Atkinson
Reverend Francis Hart Award: Stephanie Couzin
2009-2010 Captains: Lisa Wilson and Kathryn O'Connor