Women's Ice Hockey Places Seven On ECAC East All-Academic Team

March 30, 2006

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - The Holy Cross women's ice hockey team placed seven student-athletes on the Women's ECAC East All-Academic Team, as announced by the conference office and interim commissioner Steve Bamford on Thursday.

Leading the list of women are the three graduating senior captains Kate Remsberg (Arlington, Mass.), Kolt Bloxson (Fitchburg, Mass.), and Sarah Wetherbee (Canton, Mass.). All three women are repeat members of the All-Academic Team. Remsberg and Wetherbee are both English majors and Bloxson is a double major in Classics and Philosophy.

Joining their captains on the team are juniors Casey McCullion (Philadelphia, Pa.), Christine O'Hara (Burnsville, Minn.), and Shara Conroy (Londonderry, N.H.) and sophomore Katie Falkowski (East Sandwich, Mass.).

This is the fourth year that the ECAC has named all-academic teams for its five Division II and III hockey leagues. All 11 ECAC Women's East schools are represented on the team and a total of 67 Women's East student-athletes have been recognized.

To be named to the All-Academic Team the student-athlete must have completed a least one full academic year at her given institution and must have maintained a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale. The student must also have competed in at least half of her team's games, goalies in at least 33% of her team's total minutes.