Women’s Ice Hockey Places Eight On ECAC East All-Academic Team

Christina D'Ambrogio

WORCESTER, Mass. – Eight members of the 2010-2011 Holy Cross women's ice hockey team have been named to the ECAC All-Academic team, announced today by ECAC commissioner Rudy Keeling. This marks the ninth year that the conference has named an All-Academic team. A total of 76 student-athletes representing 11 of the 12 ECAC East teams earned this honor based on outstanding performance in the classroom. To be named to the All-Academic team, the student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale, and have competed in at least one-half of her team's contests during the current season (a goaltender must have played at least 33 percent of her team's minutes).

Senior Christina D'Ambrogio (Toronto, Ontario) was named to the All-Academic team for the third consecutive season after leading the team with a 3.77 GPA. Senior Monique Gallant (Antigonish, Nova Scotia), along with juniors Carly Dominick-Sobol (Syracuse, N.Y.), Nicola Garat (Princeton, N.J.) and Stacey Hochkins (New Boston, Mich.) were named to the list for the second time. Sophomores Caroline English (Dorchester, Mass.), Mariah Napolitano (Boonton, N.J.) and Meghan Reynolds (Marion, Mass.) earned the honor for the first time.

Holy Cross (17-9-1 overall, 13-5-0 ECAC East) finished the season with its third consecutive ECAC Open title, winning in a shoot out over St. Anselm. Three members of the team earned All-League honors and senior Jocelyn Kratchmer (Watrous, Saskatchewan) was named ECAC Open MVP.