Jamie Caniglia & Mackenzie Peet Nab All-Patriot League Team Honors

Mackenzie Peet

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross field hockey senior captain Jamie Caniglia (Wayne, Pa.) and freshman Mackenzie Peet (Rehoboth Beach, Del.) have been named to the 2011 first and second team All-Patriot League squads respectively, announced by the league. Both players collect the honor for the first time.

Caniglia wrapped up her career as the team's leading point scorer for the second straight year. She completed the 2011 season with 11 points, scoring three goals and assisting on five. Her five assists and three goals were the most she tallied in one season. She tied for sixth amongst Patriot League players in the assists category as well.

Peet, who finished her freshman campaign with three goals scored and one assist for seven points, ranked second on the team in points. She earned Patriot League Rookie of the Week honors on Sept. 12 after scoring three goals in three games. Peet became the first Holy Cross freshman to win Rookie of the Week honors since 2007 and first Crusader to take any Patriot League weekly award since 2009.

The 2011 Patriot League Field Hockey Tournament will be played this weekend, beginning with Friday's semifinals as No. 4 Bucknell plays No. 1 American at 11:00 a.m. and No. 3 Lehigh takes on No. 2 Lafayette at 2:00 p.m. The winners meet for the Patriot League Championship on Saturday at 1:30 p.m.

First-Team All-Patriot League*
Tatum Dyer, American (Sr., D)^; Gina Hofmann, American (Jr., D); Jenn Bradley, American (Jr., M)^;
Marci Richard, Bucknell (Sr., M); Rachel Misko, Bucknell (So., F)^; Mallory Smith, Bucknell (Sr., F); Peyton Hawkins, Colgate (Sr., M); Jamie Caniglia, Holy Cross (Sr., M); Carolyn Cabrey, Lafayette (Sr., M/D)^;Deanna DiCroce, Lafayette (Jr., F)^; Emily Valeo, Lafayette (Jr., M/D); Brittany Blass, Lafayette (Fr., M); Sierra Segear, Lehigh (So., GK); Kim Eng, Lehigh (Jr., F)^

^ - unanimous first-team selection

Second-Team All-Patriot League
Shelly Montgomery, American (So., M); Melissa Casale, American (Sr., F); Alex McMackin, American (So., F); Erica Perrine, Bucknell (So., GK); Vickie Resh, Bucknell (So., D); Amanda DiDomizio, Colgate (Fr., GK);
Mackenzie Peet, Holy Cross (Fr., M/F)
; Jaclyn White, Lafayette (Jr., M/D); Steph Fratoni, Lehigh (Fr., M/D);
Marie Mignogna, Lehigh (So., D)

Offensive Player of the Year: Deanna DiCroce, Lafayette, Jr., F
Defensive Player of the Year: Tatum Dyer, American, Sr., D
Goalkeeper of the Year: Sierra Segear, Lehigh, So., GK
Rookie of the Year: Brittany Blass, Lafayette, Fr., M
Coach of the Year: Steve Jennings, American