Whitney Fremeau & Briana McFadden Nab All-Patriot League Honors

Briana McFadden

Video: McFadden & Fremeau Discuss Honors

WORCESTER, Mass. - Senior captain Briana McFadden (Wheaton, Md.) and junior Whitney Fremeau (Manchester, N.H.) have been named to the 2009-2010 second team All-Patriot League women's basketball squad, as voted by the conference's head coaches. Freshman Amy Lepley (Norfolk, Mass.) was named to the All-Rookie Team as well. McFadden is named to an All-Patriot League team for the third time in her career while Fremeau picks up the honor for the first time.

McFadden has averaged a team-high 12.7 points this season, making 36.6 percent (101 of 276) of her field goal attempts and also averaging 4.5 rebounds per game. She ranks fifth amongst league players in scoring, sixth in assists and 17th in rebounding. On the season, McFadden has notched 21 double-digit scoring games, reaching the 20-point plateau five times. She leads the team with a total of 75 assists, an average of 2.7 assists per game. Over the course of her Holy Cross career, McFadden has now scored 1,550 points, ranking seventh on the Holy Cross 1,000-point scorers list.

Fremeau has averaged 12.3 points and 5.4 rebounds per game this season, tallying the most points (358) and rebounds (157) by any Crusader. She was even more impressive against Patriot League opponents, averaging 12.6 points and 5.5 rebounds in conference contests. She ranks 10th amongst league players in rebounding and eighth in scoring. On the season, Fremeau has led the team in rebounding in 14 contests and in scoring over eight contests. She also tallied her second career double-double this season as well. Over her three years playing at Holy Cross, Fremeau has totaled 643 points and 319 rebounds.

Lepley, who just picked up her sixth Patriot League Rookie of the Week honor this season, was joined by Army's Molly Yardley, Bucknell's Rachel Voss, Colgate's Jhazmine Lynch and Navy's Chey Arvin on the 2009-2010 Patriot League All-Rookie Team.

Holy Cross (9-20, 5-8 Patriot League) will next play as the No. 5 seed in the 2010 Patriot League Women's Basketball Tournament, matching up with Army (11-17, 5-9 PL), the No. 4 seed. The tournament is hosted by Holy Cross as the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds will be played on the Hart Center hardwood. The Crusaders match-up against the Black Knights in the opening round of games, starting at 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 6.

Full Listing of the 2009-2010 Patriot League Teams:

First-Team All-Patriot League
Michelle Kirk, American, Jr., G/F
Liz Leer, American, Jr., F
Erin Anthony, Army, Jr., F
Emily Gratch, Lehigh, So., F
Erica Prosser, Lehigh, Jr., G
Angela Myers, Navy, Jr., G 

Second-Team All-Patriot League
Trisha Krewson, Bucknell, So., G
Whitney Fremeau, Holy Cross, Jr., F
Briana McFadden, Holy Cross, Sr., G
LaKeisha Wright, Lafayette, Jr., G/F
Alex Ross, Lehigh, Sr., G 

All-Rookie Team
Molly Yardley, Army, Fr., G
Rachel Voss, Bucknell, Fr., G/F
Jhazmine Lynch, Colgate, Fr., G
Amy Lepley, Holy Cross, Fr., F
Chey Arvin, Navy, Fr., G 

Player of the Year
Michelle Kirk, American, Jr., G/F 

Defensive Player of the Year
Angela Myers, Navy, Jr., G 

Rookie of the Year
Jhazmine Lynch, Colgate, Fr., G

Coach of the Year
Matt Corkery, American