Sam McGrath Receives Varsity Club Norton Prize

Sam McGrath

WORCESTER, Mass. - Eight Crusader athletes are among a group of graduating Holy Cross seniors who have been selected as winners of Academic Awards for the 2013-2014 school year. Seniors Gary Acquah of the football team, Chris Brosnan of the men's tennis team, Derek Kump of the men's ice hockey team, Sam McGrath of the men's track and field team, Jeffrey Reppucci of the men's ice hockey team, Kelsey Poremba of the women's swimming and diving team, Anthony Russo of the men's swimming and diving team and Emily Sullivan of the women's ice hockey team are the athletes who have been honored. These individuals received their awards in a special presentation held in the Dinand Library on Thursday, May 22.

The following are the awards which were received by Holy Cross student-athletes.

The Presidential Service Awards
(for service and contributions to the college and greater Worcester community)
Gary Acquah, Derek Kump, Anthony Russo, Emily Sullivan

The George B. Moran Award
(presented to a student who has given evidence of scholarship and leadership in college activities)
Jeffrey Reppucci

The American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award
(given to an outstanding chemistry major for a demonstrated record of ability, leadership and professional promise)
Kelsey Poremba

The Economics & Accounting Achievement Award
(given to the student who has contributed most significantly to the department in terms of scholarship, service and enthusiasm)
Chris Brosnan

The Thomas A. Fulham Environmental Studies Prize
(given to a student in recognition of his or her work in safeguarding our physical environment)
Emily Sullivan

The John C. Lawlor Medal
(awarded to the outstanding student and athlete throughout the college course)
Jeffrey Reppucci

The Leonard Award
(given to the valedictorian of the graduating class for proficiency in oratory, debating or like competition)
Jeffrey Reppucci

The George Bernard Shaw Award
(given for the best essay in dramatic literature or film)
Kelsey Poremba

The Varsity Club Norton Prize
(given to an outstanding student athlete)
Sam McGrath