Bowers & Kavanagh Inducted To Holy Cross Hall Of Fame

Jay Bowers & Jim Kavanagh

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross Varsity Club has announced that six individuals have been selected for induction into the Holy Cross Athletic Hall of Fame. Included among the 2011  inductees are former men's cross country and track athlete Jay Bowers (Class of 1961) and current director of cross country, track and field Jim Kavanagh.

Bowers was a standout member of the cross country and track and field squads for the Crusaders, serving as the captain of both teams during his senior year. He won the New England championship in the 880-yard run as a junior with a time of 1:55.2. Bowers also set what were then Holy Cross and Fitton Field records in the 880-yard run with a time of 1:52.7 in May of 1960. In addition, he was a member of the two-mile relay team which won the IC4A championship and the National AAU championship in 1961, while going undefeated in the 880-yard run in dual meet competition as a senior. Following his senior year, Bowers received the John C. Lawlor Medal, awarded to the top student and athlete at Holy Cross throughout the college course.

Kavanagh is currently in his 40th season as a coach with the Holy Cross track and field and cross country programs, and has coached over 2,000 Holy Cross student-athletes during his tenure. He joined the Crusader staff in 1970 as an assistant track and field coach and was appointed head coach in 1978. Kavanagh was then promoted to the position of director of men's and women's track and cross country in the summer of 1999. Under his tutelage, five members of the cross country and track and field teams have been named Crusader of the Year, while four have received the Honorable John P. Cooney Memorial Award. Kavanagh has coached 14 New England champions, over 25 Patriot League champions, four Patriot League Scholar-Athletes of the Year, four CoSIDA Academic All-Americans and hundreds of Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selections. A 1968 graduate of Boston College, Kavanagh was a four-time All-American in the hammer and weight throws. He was also drafted by the Kansas City Chiefs of the National Football League.

This year's other inductees are Meg Galligan (honorary), Rusty Giudici (Class of 2003, soccer), Art Kenney (Class of 1938, baseball) and Tim Szatko (Class of 2003, basketball).

These six individuals will be formally inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 7, at the Varsity Club's annual dinner, to be held in the Hogan Campus Center.