Holy Cross Wraps Up Fall Season With Boston University

Dan Phelan

Overall Record: 2-3 (0-0 PL); Last Week: 0-0
Scoreboard: No events
Schedule: Friday, Oct. 23 vs. Boston University, Worcester, Mass. 3:00 p.m.

  • The Holy Cross men's tennis team plays in its final match of the fall season against Boston University on Friday, Oct. 23, postponed due to inclement weather last Friday. The teams played against each other in twice in the 2008-2009 spring season. The Terriers blanked the Crusaders 7-0 twice, with both matches on the Holy Cross home courts in Worcester, Mass. Holy Cross finished the 2008-2009 season with a 4-13 record while Boston University ended at 3-15. Holy Cross currently holds a 2-3 record this fall while Boston University is undefeated at 1-0, having beaten out Siena in their first dual-match on Oct. 10.
  • Holy Cross and Boston University are familiar foes as they have competed against each other six times since the 2004-2005 season, with the Terriers having won all six. Holy Cross junior Matt Wierzel (Garden City, N.Y.) had gone 0-4 against the Terriers' No. 1 singles player Jeff Chudacoff until they met at the Connecticut Invitational earlier this season. Wierzel topped  Chudacoff in the first round, 6-3, 7-6 to earn the breakthrough victory
  • Wierzel, after finishing the month of September with a 15-1 record at No. 1 singles was named the Patriot League Tennis Player of the Month, the first time a player has been so honored in program history. His accomplishments this season also earned him the AT&T Crusader of the Week accolade for the week of Sept. 14. This is the first time Wierzel has earned either honor in his three-year career.
  • Sophomore Chris Das (Melrose, Mass.) is also on his way to earning career-bests this season. He ranks second on the team with a 4-1 record at No. 2 singles. This is the first time Das has played as the team's No. 2 singles player, having gone 1-0 at No. 1 singles, 2-5 at No. 5 and 4-6 at No. 6 last year. He is three wins away from tying his seven total victories from 2008-2009.