Four Crusaders Earn All-Patriot League Honors

Tommy Uttaro

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross men's soccer seniors Josh Cintas  (San Diego, Calif.), Monty Sanders (Temecula, Calif.) and Tommy Uttaro (Staten Island, N.Y.) and sophomore Luke Melody (Mansfield, Conn.) have earned All-Patriot League honors. Sanders earned first team accolades for the second consecutive season. Cintas earned second team honors while Melody and Uttaro were named to the third team. This year marks the most Holy Cross players to be named to All-League teams since 2008.

For the second year in a row Sanders earned first team All-Patriot League honors. Sanders is a two-time captain who as a senior has tallied four goals, five assists and 13 points, which are all career-highs. Sanders leads the team in assists and points as his five assists are tied for fourth all-time in a season in school history. He leads the team with a career-best three game-winning goals. He is fifth in the Patriot League in points, tied for fifth in assists, tied for eighth in goals and tied for third in game-winning goals. During his career, Sanders has only missed one game, playing and starting in 68 games scoring a total of 11 career goals, seven assists and 29 points. He won the team's 2013 Luke Dunivant Award, which goes to a player who has inspired others by displaying outstanding courage, commitment to the team and sportsmanship during his career. Sanders was named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in 2011 and 2012 and is a three-year member of the Holy Cross Leadership Academy. Go here to read a feature story on the men's soccer team featuring Sanders.

Cintas has played in 49 career games with 43 starts. Over his collegiate career, he has totaled nine goals and eight assists for a combined 26 career points. Last year in 2012, Cintas earned both first team All-Patriot League and third team All-Mid Atlantic honors. He is a member of the Holy Cross Leadership Academy.

Uttaro has appearedin 68 career games that include 60 starts, which is tied for the most games played by any current member of the team. In his career, Uttaro has tallied eight goals and eight assists totaling 24 points. Four of his eight goals have been game winners. Uttaro also has one appearance on the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll.

Melody has made 17 starts in his 17 games played this season. He has one goal and one assist for three points including his first career game winner in the 2-1 victory over Lehigh on Nov. 9. In his 33 career games played, Melody has started in all 33. He has scored three goals and has one assist for seven career points, including two goals for four points as a freshman in 2012. He is a member of the Holy Cross Leadership Academy.

The Crusaders will be the No. 3 seed in the six-team Patriot League Tournament and will host No. 6 seed Colgate (4-13-2 overall, 3-5-1 PL) in the quarterfinals on Tuesday, Nov. 12 at the Linda Johnson Smith Soccer Stadium at 7:00 p.m. The winner will move onto the semifinals on Friday, Nov. 15 in Annapolis, Md. Holy Cross defeated the Raiders, 3-2 in overtime in Hamilton, N.Y., earlier this season on Oct. 19. The Crusaders are 3-9-2 in the history of the Patriot League tournament and 0-1-0 against Colgate in tournament games. The Crusaders' eight overall wins are their most since going 9-5-5 in 2008, while their six Patriot League victories tie their most ever as the 2001 team went 6-0-1. The Crusaders won the Patriot League championship in 2002. 

2013 Men's Soccer All-Patriot League and Major Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Jamie Dubyoski, Navy, So., F
Defensive Player of the Year – Joe Greenspan, Navy, Jr., D
Goalkeeper of the Year – Winston Boldt, Army, Jr., GK
Rookie of the Year – Tanner Vosvick, Army, Fr., D
Coach of the Year – Dave Brandt, Navy

First Team
Jesse Klug, Bucknell, So., F
Jamie Dubyoski, Navy, So., F
Chris Thorsheim, Bucknell, So., M
Monty Sanders, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Stephen Dooley, Loyola Maryland, Sr., M
Martin Sanchez, Navy, Sr., M
Mayowa Alli, Bucknell, Sr., D
Joe Greenspan, Navy, Jr., D
Derek Vogel, Navy, So., D
Winston Boldt, Army, Jr., GK

Second Team *
Dominique Badji, Boston University, Jr., F
Larry Ndjock, Loyola Maryland, So., F
Justin Kim, Army, So., M
Anthony Ciccone, Boston University, Sr., M
Josh Cintas, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Guy Skord, Navy, Sr., M
Tanner Vosvick, Army, Fr., D
Joe Meyer, Bucknell, Sr., D
Evan Heroux, Colgate, Jr., D
Julian Plummer, Lafayette, Jr., D
Nick Dubee, Navy, Sr., D
Mike Lansing, Bucknell, So., GK

*-Has 12 members because of a tie in the voting

Third Team
Colin Seigfreid, American, Sr., F
Tommy Uttaro, Holy Cross, Sr., F
Dave Arnold, Navy, Sr., F
Stephen Hauschild, American, Jr., M
Sean Mogan, Army, Jr., M
Nick Arpey, Colgate, Sr., M
Conor Osborne, American, Jr., D
Cameron Niccum, Army, So., D
Luke Melody, Holy Cross, So., D
Gavin Snyder, Navy, Sr., GK