Dickinson Receives Pedro Arrupe Medal & George B. Moran Award

WORCESTER, Mass. - Seven Crusader athletes are among a group of graduating Holy Cross seniors who have been selected as winners of Academic Awards for the 2008-2009 school year. Seniors Daryl Brown (Stone Mountain, Ga.) of the football team, Jerry Dickinson (Pittsburgh, Pa.) of the men's soccer team, Sebastian Fidelus (Jersey City, N.J.) of the men's cross country and track teams, Wade Lucas (Portland, Maine) of the men's rowing team, Stephen Schoenberger (North Hampton, N.H.) of the men's cross country and track teams, Kelly Shaw (South Windsor, Conn.) of the women's track team and Colleen Spilka (Hamden, Conn.) of the women's cross country and track teams are the athletes who have been honored. These individuals received their awards in a special presentation held in the Dinand Library on Thursday, May 21.

The following are the awards which were received by Holy Cross athletes.

The Pedro Arrupe Medal for Outstanding Service
(awarded to a graduating man and woman whose faith in the gospel is made visible through their work for justice, both at Holy Cross and beyond)
Jerry Dickinson

The Asian Studies Program Award
(presented to a fourth-year Asian Studies major or concentrator who has submitted the most outstanding piece of scholarly or artistic work as judged by a committee of Asian Studies faculty. The award also recognizes distinctive academic achievement in the Asian Studies curriculum and contribution to the Asian Studies program)
Stephen Schoenberger

The John J. Cummings, Jr./Bai Award
(for the best essay or research paper submitted during the academic year on a subject relating to financial institutions)
Kelly Shaw

The Dr. Marianthi Georgoudi Memorial Award
(given to the outstanding graduating Psychology major as judged by the faculty of the Psychology department. This award is in memory of Dr. Georgoudi who had been a member of the Holy Cross Psychology department)
Colleen Spilka

The John C. Lawlor Medal
(awarded to the outstanding student and athlete throughout the college course)
Kelly Shaw

The George B. Moran Award
(goes to a fourth-year student who has given evidence of scholarship and leadership in college activities)
Jerry Dickinson

The James H. Reilly Memorial Purse
(given to the student who has contributed the best poem or short story to The Purple)
Wade Lucas

The Varsity Club Norton Prize
(given to an outstanding student athlete)
Sebastian Fidelus

Presidential Service Award
(for service and contributions to the college and greater Worcester communities)
Daryl Brown