Men's Rowing Places 21st At IRA National Championship

Jordan Traub

WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The Holy Cross men's rowing team placed 21st out of 24 teams at the 112th Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championship concluding its season on the final day of competition on Sunday on Mercer Lake in West Windsor, N.J. The Crusaders tallied 15 points. Washington won the championship with 192 points. The Crusaders placed 10th in the Chapman Award standings out of 20 teams for "most improved" team in overall standings from last year. Last year the Crusaders tallied six points for a nine-point improvement from last year.

The varsity eight placed third in the fourth-level final out of six boats. No. 19 Hobart (5:51.600) placed first, while Drexel (5:55.050) was second, the Crusaders (5:57.700) were third, No. 16 Dartmouth (5:58.930) was fourth, San Diego (6:01.950) was fifth and Gonzaga (6:05.400) was sixth. The Crusaders placed 21st in the overall varsity eight competition out of 24 boats.

The second varsity eight placed sixth in the fourth-level final out of six boats. George Washington (5:55.174) placed first, while Columbia (5:58.305) was second, Hobart (6:01.780) was third, San Diego (6:04.295) was fourth, Florida Institute of Technology (6:06.626) was fifth and the Crusaders (6:10.638) were sixth. The Crusaders placed 24th in the overall second varsity eight competition out of 24 boats.

The third varsity eight placed second in the third-level final out of six boats. Wisconsin (6:01.006) was first, while the Crusaders (6:03.230) were second, Oregon State (6:03.871) was third, Harvard (6:11.697) was fourth, Hobart (6:16.170) was fifth and Drexel (6:29.309) was sixth. The Crusaders placed 14th in the overall third varsity eight competition out of 18 boats.

To make a gift to support the Holy Cross rowing team through the Crusader Athletics Fund please go here.

Varsity Eight: Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Vince LaMonteJohn TanisSam PoryandaJohn BurkeSean O'NeillHenry Van DammeJordan TraubConnor Dilworth.

Second Varsity Eight: John Gentile (coxswain), James HollandAnthony CurroKevin CaseyBrian SullivanAndrew McNamaraConnor MayCasey NortonTiarnan Doherty.

Third Varsity Eight: J.T. Kearney (coxswain), Ryan HalliseyJon BachmannJoe NolanChristian KerriganDanny MitchellRyan TierneyT.J. WattsChris Mudrick.