Men's Rowing Set For IRA National Championship

Jordan Traub

Holy Cross Men's Rowing
Schedule: Friday-Sunday, May 30-June 1, IRA National Championship, West Windsor, N.J.

  • The Holy Cross men's rowing team will compete at the 112th Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championship on Mercer Lake in West Windsor, N.J., on May 30-June 1. The Crusaders will race in the varsity eight, second varsity eight and third varsity eight competitions.
  • For complete coverage of the regatta on go to To watch the regatta go here. You can also follow the team on twitter @HCMRowing.
  • The Crusaders will race in the fourth opening heat of the varsity eight competition at 8:45 a.m. on Friday versus No. 20 Florida Institute of Technology, No. 12 Navy, No. 4 Brown, No. 5 Princeton and No. 13 Stanford. The second varsity eight will race at 9:30 a.m. against Columbia, Princeton, Navy, Syracuse and Hobart, while the third varsity eight will take on Oregon State, Yale, California, Northeastern and Wisconsin at 10:30 a.m. The first and second place boats will qualify for the semifinals on Saturday, while the remaining boats will go to the repechages on Friday afternoon. For the schedule go here
  • The Holy Cross men's varsity eight has the most points of any team not ranked but receiving votes with three in the latest USRowing men's varsity eight poll. Washington is ranked No. 1.
  • Last year, the Crusaders placed 20th out of 23 teams at the 111th Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championship on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. Washington won the championship. The Crusaders competed in the varsity eight, second varsity eight and open four events.
  • To make a gift to support the Holy Cross rowing team through the Crusader Athletics Fund please go here.

Here are the lineups:

Varsity Eight : Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Vince LaMonteJohn TanisSam PoryandaJohn BurkeSean O'NeillHenry Van DammeJordan Traub, Connor Dilworth.

Second Varsity Eight: John Gentile (coxswain), James HollandAnthony CurroKevin Casey, Brian SullivanAndrew McNamaraConnor May, Casey Norton, Tiarnan Doherty.  

Third Varsity Eight: J.T. Kearney (coxswain), Ryan HalliseyJon Bachmann, Joe NolanChristian KerriganDanny Mitchell, Ryan TierneyT.J. WattsChris Mudrick.