Men’s Varsity Eight & Novice Eight Place First At Snake Regatta

Anthony Curro

WORCESTER, Mass. ­­– The Holy Cross varsity eight placed first out of 14 boats, while the novice eight finished first out of 12 boats as the Holy Cross men's rowing team opened the 2013-2014 season at the Snake Regatta on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday. This is the fourth straight year that the Crusaders' varsity eight have won the men's eight race.

The varsity eight won the race with a time of 13:44.126, while WPI placed second with a time of 14:03.712. The Crusaders' second varsity eight posted a fifth place finish with a time of 14:25.647.

The freshman eight won its race with a time of 14:13.056 as WPI was second with a time of 15:32.604. The Crusaders placed seventh in the varsity four competition with a time of 17:02.880 as Rhode Island won with a time of 15:50.990.

The Crusaders return to action when they compete at the 49th Head of the Charles Regatta on Oct. 19-20.

Holy Cross Varsity Eight: Christian Brooks (coxswain), Jordan Traub, Anthony Curro, Sam Poryanda, T.J. Watts, Henry Van Damme, Connor Dilworth, Sean O'Neill, Connor May.        

Holy Cross Second Varsity Eight: Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Casey Norton, Kyle Larkin, John Burke, Brian Sullivan, Danny Mitchell, J.D. Power, Mike Lindsay, Tiarnan Doherty.    

Holy Cross Freshman Eight: Cally Hickey (coxswain), Vince LaMonte, John Tanis, Kevin Casey, Christian Kerrigan, Anthony Criscitiello, William McCue, James Holland, Ryan Tierney.  

Holy Cross Varsity Four: Eddie Ryan (coxswain), Conor Faron, Tom Behrakis, Will Callif, Robbie Carter.