Men's Rowing Races Versus Northeastern & Oregon State

Peter Prominski

BOSTON, Mass. – The Holy Cross men's rowing team raced versus EARC opponent Northeastern and non-conference opponent Oregon State on the Charles River on Saturday.

Northeastern's No. 10 nationally ranked varsity eight won the race with a time of 6:11.9. The race for second place was very close as No. 18 Oregon State (6:25.7) edged the Crusaders (6:26.1).

The Crusaders and Northeastern met in three other dual races. The Huskies won the second varsity eight race with a time of 6:20.5, while Holy Cross tallied a time of 6:37.6. Northeastern (6:13.9) won the freshman eight race versus the Crusaders (6:40.8), while the Huskies (7:17.8) also won the second freshman four race against the Crusaders (7:39.9).

"I thought all our boats raced hard," said Holy Cross head coach Todd Pearson. "Going into today, we knew that Northeastern could make it a long day for us. They can make it a long day for a lot of the teams in our league and across the country. Unfortunately, we couldn't match their speed. Additionally, our varsity eight had a heartbreaking loss to Oregon State. The OSU crew deserves a lot of credit as they found just enough to get their bow ball in front of ours at the end. We've been racing really well, but just haven't broken though to beat some boats. I think we learned from today and hopefully we'll continue to race faster against Rutgers on Sunday."

The Crusaders return to action on Sunday, April 22, when they race versus EARC opponent Rutgers at 11:00 a.m., in Worcester, Mass., on Lake Quinsigamond.

Holy Cross varsity eight: Steve Burison (coxswain), Jordan Traub, Nick Forgione, Peter Prominski, Henry Van Damme, Peter Dwyer, Mike Walker, Colin Hayes, Pat Rapuano.

Holy Cross second varsity eight: Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Paul Gaffney, Kevin Moran, Kevin Smith, Dan Ryan, Andrew Cecchetti, Sean O'Neill, Mike Lindsay, Bryan Ptucha.
Holy Cross freshman eight:
Eddie Ryan (coxswain), James LaVersa, Alex Brandon, Kyle Larkin, David Cieremans, Carey Spanos, Andrew McNamara, Brian Clark, Chris Roy.

Holy Cross second freshman four: Patrick Sleight (coxswain), Nick Whalen, Tiarnan Doherty, Kevin Kessler, Joveto De Carvalho.