1995 Lightweight Eight Inducted To Holy Cross Hall Of Fame

The 1995 Lightweight Eight

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross Varsity Club has announced the 2012 selections for induction into the Holy Cross Athletic Hall of Fame. Included among the 2012 inductees is the 1995 Men's Lightweight Eight.

The 1995 Lightweight Eight had one of the most successful seasons in the history of men's rowing at Holy Cross. The boat took first place at the Patriot Regatta, second at the New England Championship and third at the ECAC National Invitational Regatta, in addition to claiming the Lawrence M. Chick, Jr. Cup. The Lightweight Eight then went on to claim sixth place at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championship Regatta, becoming the only crew from Holy Cross to ever qualify for the grand final of an eight-oared event at the IRA Regatta. The boat was comprised of Caitlin Scanlon, Thomas Sullivan, Elliot Repko, Robert Smith, Matthew Burke, Matthew Simitis, Andrew Cutney, David O'Donnell and Thomas Gillon.

This year's other inductees are Steve Buchanan (Class of 1974, football), Bob Cooney (Class of 1955, honorary), Ken Komodzinski (Class of 1960, baseball, football), Ann Lambiotte (Class of 1991, basketball), Art Martin (Class of 1970, cross country, track and field) and Mary Beth Ryan (Class of 2005, softball).

These new honorees will be formally inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 5, at the Varsity Club's annual dinner, to be held in the Hogan Campus Center.