Men's Varsity Eight Places First At Snake Regatta

Jordan Traub

WORCESTER, Mass. ­­– The Holy Cross varsity eight placed first out of 23 boats in the men's eight race and set a course record as the Holy Cross men's rowing team opened its fall season at the Snake Regatta on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday. This is the second straight year that the Crusaders have won this event.

The varsity eight won the race with a time of 12:55.356. The Crusaders also had strong performances from their second varsity eight, freshman eight and third varsity eight boats. The second varsity eight finished fourth (13:16.044), the freshman eight placed eighth (13:34.162) and the third varsity eight finished 10th (13:41.359).

"Today was a really solid day for the team," said head coach Todd Pearson. "All four boats raced hard and placed first among their respective boat classes. I was really pleased with the varsity eight's time, which is a new course record and our second varsity beat all but two varsity eight boats. The conditions were very challenging, but all of our boats handled the conditions well.  What really excites me most is the overall depth of the team. The competition for seats in boats has been more intense than ever and I'm sure the lineups will continue to move around. We all realize that today's result is just the start of a long process and we're more determined than ever to get even faster." 

The Crusaders return to action when they compete at the 47th Head of the Charles Regatta on Oct. 22-23. Go here for the schedule.

Holy Cross "A" (Varsity eight): Steve Burison (coxswain), Jordan Traub, Anthony Curro, Peter Prominski, Henry Van Damme, Peter Dwyer, Colin Hayes, Bryan Ptucha, Nick Forgione.

Holy Cross "B" (Second varsity eight): John Gentile (coxswain), Mike Lindsay, Pat Rapuano, Andrew Cecchetti, Dan Ryan, Sean O'Neill, Kevin Moran, Trevor Zaleski, Mike Walker.

Holy Cross "C" (Third varsity eight): Brendan Siebecker (coxswain), Paul Gaffney, Matt Haraburda, Tom Gallant, Sean Corwen, Kevin Smith, Patrick Kokoszka, Thad Logan, Steve Raiola.

Holy Cross "D" (Freshman eight): Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), James LaVersa, Kyle Larkin, John Burke, Lucius White, Alex Brandon, Brian Clark, Chris Roy, Matt Dunn.