Men's Rowing Wins Three Of Four Races Versus Bucknell

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross men's rowing team won three of four races versus Bucknell on Saturday afternoon on Lake Quinsigamond. The varsity eight, the second varsity eight and the third varsity four each earned victories for the Crusaders.

The varsity eight race was the closest of the competition as the Crusaders (6:12.8) edged the Bison (6:13.5). The second varsity eight (6:32.4) also defeated Bucknell (6:52.1). The third varsity four (7:40.8) placed first followed by Bucknell (7:52.5) and the Crusaders' second freshman four (8:10.8). Bucknell (6:30.3) won the freshman eight race over the Crusaders (6:34.0).

"Today was a great day for our team," said head coach Todd Pearson. "I am extremely pleased to win three out of for races against our Patriot League rival, Bucknell. While the 2v and 3v4 were decisive wins for our guys, the varsity race was a hard fought win against a very strong and battle-tested Bucknell crew. The frosh rowed hard and continue to improve and I'm confident they will crack through and get a "w" soon.  I'm really proud of everyone on the team. It was especially nice to win in front of so many parents and alumni who were present for the dedication of several of our boats, including the varsity 8 shell which is named in honor of the recently deceased Matthew Burke '95. Matt was a teammate of mine and members of his family were present today to see the shell bearing his name win. It was a really special moment for the program."

The Crusaders return to action on Saturday, April 30, when they take on Rutgers on the Raritan River in New Brunswick, N.J.

Holy Cross varsity eight: Mary Carol Madigan (coxswain), Grant O'Connell, Mike Walker, Peter Prominski, Tom Gallant, Peter Dwyer, Kevin Moran, Colin Hayes, Pat Rapuano.

Holy Cross second varsity eight: Steve Burison (coxswain), Paul Gaffney, Kevin Moran, Andrew Cecchetti, Dan Ryan, Pete Haney, Trevor Zaleski, Nicholas Powers, Kevin Smith

Holy Cross freshman eight: Brendan Siebecker (coxswain), Jordan Traub, Matt Haraburda, Mike Lindsay, Leo Kennedy, Sean O'Neill, Henry Van Damme, Bryan Ptucha, Anthony Curro.

Holy Cross third varsity four: John Gentile (coxswain), Steve Raiola, Patrick Kokoszka, Matthew Achariam, Thad Logan.   

Holy Cross second freshman four: Michael Fitzgerald (coxswain), Tom Schoenberger, James Power, Kyle Johnson, Tom Kelley.