Men's Rowing Competes At George Washington Invitational

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The freshman eight won two of its three races as the Holy Cross men’s rowing team competed at the 23rd George Washington Invitational held on the Potomac River on April 9-10. Some of the top teams in the nation rowed at the event as No. 15 George Washington, No. 9 Cornell, Georgetown, Gonzaga, MIT, No. 14 Navy and No. 20 UC San Diego all competed. The Crusaders finished sixth out of eight teams with 30 total points. Cornell won the Oliver T. Carr Bowl with 117 points. Navy also had 117 points but Cornell won the title by having the faster time in the varsity eight race.  

Friday’s races featured a strong tailwind and a moderate tailcurrent, while Saturday featured a moderate tailwind and a moderate tailcurrent. Both days were sunny and in the low to mid 60 degrees.

The freshman eight (5:48.4) defeated UC San Diego (5:52.4) on Friday. On Saturday, the freshman eight had two races. Navy (5:37.6) won the first race, followed by Holy Cross (5:42.3) and Gonzaga (5:52.3). In Holy Cross’ second race, the Crusaders (5:39.4) edged George Washington (5:39.7), while Gonzaga (5:46.8) finished third.

On Friday, the varsity eight (5:48.1) fell to No. 20 UC San Diego (5:40.4). In its first race on Saturday, the varsity eight (5:33.1) just fell short to Gonzaga (5:32.8), while in their final race of the competition, the Crusaders (5:48.3) were defeated by No. 15 George Washington (5:39.1).

The second varsity eight (6:01.0) placed third on Friday versus Navy “B” (5:46.1) and UC San Diego (5:51.0). Holy Cross (6:06.1) finished third in its first race on Saturday as Navy (5:38.7) won the race and Gonzaga (5:46.4) finished second. In its last race of the event, the second varsity eight (6:07.0) placed third behind George Washington (5:50.4) and Gonzaga (5:51.2).

The Crusaders return to action when they will take on Georgetown on Saturday, April 17, in Pelham, N.Y.

Holy Cross varsity eight: Chris Hayden, D.J. Estes, Dan McGlinn, Peter Dwyer, Dan Ryan, Colin Hayes, Sean Corwen, Trevor Zaleski, Garrett Pearce.

Holy Cross second varsity eight: Steve Burison, Pete Haney, Patrick Kokoszka, Tom Gallant, Richard Sullivan, Teddy Doyle, Kevin Smith, Eddie Pinero, Ron Paranal.

Holy Cross freshman eight: James Balardi, Paul Gaffney, Nick Forgione, Mike Walker, Kevin Moran, Peter Prominski, Lucas Netchert, Nicholas Powers, Pat Rapuano.