Men's Rowing Races Versus #16 Dartmouth

Varsity eight

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Holy Cross men’s rowing team competed against No. 16 Dartmouth on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday to start the spring season as the Big Green won all four races. The races on Lake Quinsigamond had a 10-12 mph head wind which increased throughout racing.

“While a warm and sunny day, the Holy Cross crews didn't handle the head wind as well as our opponent,” said head coach Todd Pearson. “The varsity eight is a very young group, with five sophomores in the boat and our youth showed. However, I am confident that we'll continue to improve throughout the season. Our freshman crew had the best effort of the day, even in a losing effort, as they finished less than one length behind the Dartmouth freshman eight and closed the margin significantly in the final 250 meters. We look to regroup with a short week of practice before heading to the GW Invitational on Friday and Saturday of this week.”

The freshman eight race was very close as Dartmouth earned the victory with a time of 6:41.15 as a charging Holy Cross team just fell short with a time of 6:43.55. The Big Green won the varsity eight race with a time of 6:25.69 as the Crusaders had a time of 6:47.06. Dartmouth’s second varsity eight recorded a time of 6:40.30, while Holy Cross posted a time of 7:09.77. The third varsity eight race was won by the Big Green as it posted a time of 7:10.47 and Holy Cross had a time of 7:43.55.

The Crusaders return to action on Saturday and Sunday, April 9-10, when they travel to Washington, D.C., to compete at the George Washington Invitational.

Holy Cross varsity eight: Chris Hayden, D.J. Estes, Dan McGlinn, Peter Dwyer, Dan Ryan, Colin Hayes, Sean Corwen, Trevor Zaleski, Garrett Pearce.

Holy Cross second varsity eight: Steve Burison, Eddie Pinero, Patrick Kokoszka, Tom Gallant, Richard Sullivan, Teddy Doyle, Kevin Smith, Pete Haney, Ron Paranal.

Holy Cross third varsity eight: Jessica Ripp, Thad Logan, Simon Toledano, Andrew Cecchetti, Matt Gallo, Matthew Burke, Matthew Achariam, Steve Raiola, Robert Weitzel.

Holy Cross freshman eight: James Balardi, Paul Gaffney, Nick Forgione, Mike Walker, Kevin Moran, Peter Prominski, Lucas Netchert, Nicholas Powers, Pat Rapuano.













The varsity eight versus Dartmouth on April 3, 2010.