Holy Cross Concludes Season At IRA National Championship


GOLD RIVER, Calif. - The Holy Cross men's rowing team concluded competition at the 107th IRA National Championship at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center on Lake Natoma on Saturday.

The varsity eight of sophomore coxswain Mary Carol Madigan (Kenilworth, Ill.), senior stroke Adam Furlong (Pittstown, N.J.), junior Garrett Pearce (Haworth, N.J.), senior Erick Winstead (Fairfield, Conn.), junior Daniel McGlinn (Ambler, Pa.), sophomore Grant O'Connell (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.), senior Wade Lucas (Portland, Maine), senior James Eagan (Norwich, Conn.) and senior Christian Bratton (Philadelphia, Pa.) raced in the fourth level final against three other teams including two nationally ranked teams. The Crusaders finished third with a time of 6:22.14. No. 14 MIT won the race with a time of 6:16.67. No. 18 Pennsylvania placed second with a time of 6:18.17 and UC San Diego finished fourth with a time of 6:23.29. Overall for the varsity eight competition Holy Cross finished 21st, while Washington won the varsity eight title.

Holy Cross finished 22nd for the entire competition, while Washington won the Ten Eyck Trophy as the IRA national champion with 198 points.

The 2008-2009 season has now concluded.