Harrison Named A Lowe's Senior Class Award Candidate

March 5, 2009

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior men's lacrosse goalie Jimmy Harrison (East Williston, N.Y.) has been named one of 30 candidates for the 2009 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award as the outstanding NCAA Division I senior student-athlete for the men's lacrosse division.

The award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year in nine sports as it focuses on the "Four C's" of classroom, character, community and competition. This marks the third year for the men's lacrosse division of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Syracuse attack and team captain Mike Leveille took home the award in 2008 and Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle was the inaugural winner in 2007.

"Jimmy Harrison is a senior captain for the Holy Cross men's lacrosse team and has been a starter since his sophomore year," said Holy Cross head coach Adam Pascal. "He plays an active role in John's Brothers, our Big Brothers/Big Sisters program, participating weekly as a Big Brother and also as a rider in the Rodman Ride every fall. He is a young man who values his role as a captain and continually works to improve himself as a player and as a young man. It is not by chance that Jimmy is a success, he is a leader by example and effort."

Harrison, who was a member of the 2007 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, is very involved as a Big Brother in the Big Brothers/Big Sisters program as he serves as a Big Brother on a weekly basis. In 2007 he was a part of the Holy Cross men's lacrosse team that received the H. Martin Deranian Fellowship Award from Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Central Massachusetts, for outstanding volunteer efforts. Harrison also takes part in the Annual Rodman Ride for Kids. This is a one-day cycling tour that raises money for nonprofit agencies that promote healthy, positive lives for children throughout New England.

Harrison has been outstanding in goal over his career. He has played in 40 career games with 31 starts as his 433 career saves are ranked fourth all-time in school history. He was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year as a sophomore and junior, while he also earned the team's Rookie of the Year award as a freshman. His .585 save percentage in 2008 ranks fourth all-time in a single-season in school history and was tied for second in the Patriot League, while his 166 saves and 11.86 saves per game were third in the conference. In Holy Cross' win at Yale on Feb. 24, 2008, which was the first-ever win over an Ivy League school in the program's history, he made a career-best 22 saves and allowed only six goals for a .786 save percentage which is the fourth best single-game save percentage in school history. He earned New England Player of the Week and Patriot League Goalie of the Week accolades for his performance. As a sophomore in 2007, Harrison had 173 saves and 12.36 saves per game which were ranked second in the Patriot League.

From the list of 30 candidates, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the 2009 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award at the end of March. Those 10 names will then be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote beginning March 26 and concluding May 7. Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award. Winners will be announced during the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championships in Foxborough, Mass., scheduled for May 23-25.

The Crusaders will begin the Patriot League season on March 7, when they play at Colgate at 3:00 p.m.

2009 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Lacrosse Candidates
Name                        School
Matt Abbott                 Syracuse
Drew Adams                  Penn State
Tim Balise                  UMass
Doug Buckley                Bucknell
Jordan Burke                Brown
Mike Catalino               Duke
Peter Christman             Notre Dame
Michael Colleluori          Hofstra
Randall Cooper              Towson
Brandon Corp                Colgate
Joel Dalgarno               Ohio State
Michael Evans               Johns Hopkins
Danny Glading               Virginia
Zack Greer                  Bryant
Jimmy Harrison              Holy Cross
Ryan Hoff                   Notre Dame
Max Motschwiller            Harvard
Joey Murray                 Denver
Griffin Nevitt              Air Force
Sam Payton                  Duke
Garrett Pedley              Albany
Brendan Reilly              Princeton
Doug Rendall                Dartmouth
Jeff Rommel                 Rutgers
Scott Rosenshein            Army
Max Seibald                 Cornell
Chris Taylor                Georgetown
Mike Timms                  Virginia
Andy Tormey                 Navy
Grant Zimmerman             North Carolina