Men's Lacrosse Edged By Lehigh, 7-5

April 14, 2009

Box Score

WORCESTER, Mass. - With the Crusaders trailing 6-5, Lehigh's Adam Johnston scored with 1:15 left in the fourth period as the Holy Cross men's lacrosse team fell to Lehigh, 7-5, on Tuesday afternoon on Senior Day at the Hart Turf Field in Patriot League action. With the loss, the Crusaders fall to 3-10 overall (0-6 Patriot League), while the Mountain Hawks improve to 4-10 (2-3 Patriot League).

Holy Cross was led by sophomore Colin Flood (Bay Shore, N.Y.) who had one goal and one assist for two points. Senior Luke Marchand (Concord, Mass.), junior Kenny Minor (South Hadley, Mass.), junior Chris Smirti (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) and freshman Colin McGeehin (Newtown Square, Pa.) each scored one goal, while sophomore Conor McKenna (Summit, N.J.) had two assists.

Lehigh was led by Ricky Cornetta who had three goals and one assist for four points.

After Lehigh scored the first two goals of the contest, Marchand made the score 2-1. Lehigh then moved out to a 4-1 lead, but McGeehin scored off a pass by McKenna with six seconds left in the first period to make it a 4-2 contest. With Lehigh now leading 5-2, Minor scored the last goal of the first half.

The Crusaders trailed by only one goal after Flood scored off an assist by McKenna, but Lehigh then increased its lead to 6-4 with the last goal of the third period. Holy Cross made it a 6-5 game when Smirti found the back of the net off a pass by Flood, but Johnston's goal on the only man-advantage opportunity for either team put the game out of reach for the 7-5 final score.

Senior goalie Jimmy Harrison (East Williston, N.Y.) made nine saves, while Morgan Haller stopped seven shots. Lehigh outshot Holy Cross, 36-19, while Lehigh picked up 25 ground balls and the Crusaders had 16.

The Crusaders return to action on April 18, when they play at Harvard at 4:00 p.m.

Before the contest, seniors Brian Becker (Syracuse, N.Y.), Tyson Colaianni (McLean, Va.), Sean Daly (Canton, Mass.), Paddy Dowling (Darien, Conn.), Rich Durand (Oradell, N.J.), Patrick Flynn (Weston, Mass.), Harrison, Marchand and John Marino (Skaneateles, N.Y.) were honored for their hard work and dedication to the team on and off the field.