Jim Morrissey Named Patriot League Coach Of The Year

Jim Morrissey

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross men's lacrosse head coach Jim Morrissey has been named the Patriot League Coach of the Year and senior captain John Hannan (Manhasset, N.Y.) has earned second team All-Patriot League honors. Morrissey is the first Holy Cross men's lacrosse coach to earn this honor, while Hannan is the fifth Crusader to ever receive All-Patriot League accolades. Holy Cross' other four selections were also on the second team (Tom Lynch in 1994, Dave DePaolo in 1998, Marty Gilbert in 2002 and Douglas Broussard in 2010).

Morrissey, who just concluded his third season at Holy Cross, guided the Crusaders to their most wins since the 1988 season with a 7-8 record. Holy Cross went 2-4 in the Patriot League, marking the first time in program history that the Crusaders have won two Patriot League games. Holy Cross defeated Navy on March 17 for the first time in school history and also defeated Lafayette on April 6.

Hannan ranked third on the team this season in goals with 23 and was fourth with his 28 points. He played in all 60 of the team's games during his collegiate career and made 41 starts. Hannan scored 82 goals and tallied 12 assists for 94 career points. He was named the team's Offensive Player of the Year in 2011 as a sophomore.

Scan the QR Code below for three Crusader Loyalty points. If you are not signed up for the Crusader Loyalty Program go here to learn about the program and earn two points for signing up: http://www.goholycross.com/Loyalty.








2013 All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards in Men's Lacrosse

Offensive Player of the Year - John Glesener, Army, So., A
Defensive Player of the Year - Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Rookie of the Year - Sean Doyle, Bucknell, Fr., A
Goalkeeper of the Year - Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So. 
Coach of the Year - Jim Morrissey, Holy Cross

First Team
John Glesener, Army, So., A
Garrett Thul, Army, Sr., A (**!)
Peter Baum, Colgate, Sr., A (***)
David Dickson, Bucknell, So., M (!)
Thomas Flibotte, Bucknell, Fr., M
Jimmy Ryan, Colgate, Jr., M 
Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Bobby Lawrence, Colgate, Jr., D (*)
Mike Noone, Lehigh, Sr., D (!)
Alex Daly, Army, Fr., FOS
Pat Kiernan, Navy, Jr., LSM (!)
Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So., GK (*)

Second Team &
Chase Bailey, Bucknell, Sr., A 
Ryan Walsh, Colgate, So., A (!)
David DiMaria, Lehigh, Sr., A (!)
John Hannan, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Patrick Corbett, Lehigh, So., M 
Brian Hess, Lehigh, Sr., M 
Mike Huffner, Bucknell, Sr., D (**)
Jackson Place, Bucknell, Jr., D
Ty Souders, Lehigh, Jr., D (*)
Ryan Gutowski, Bucknell, Sr., FOS
Robert Grabher, Colgate, Sr., FOS (*)
Ryan Snyder, Lehigh, Sr., FOS (*!)
Jimbo D'Aprile, Army, So., D-Mid
Sam Somers, Army, So., GK

& - Second team features 14 student-athletes because of a tie in the voting
* - Number of previous first-team accolades
! - Number of previous second-team accolades