James Kennedy Named To The Tewaaraton Award Watch List

James Kennedy

Tewaaraton Award Official Website

WORCESTER, Mass. – Holy Cross junior men's lacrosse captain James Kennedy (Summit, N.J.) has been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List. The award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the nation. This is the first time a Holy Cross men's lacrosse player has been on the watch list.

Kennedy leads the team this season with a career-best 16 assists and a career-best 34 points. He is tied for first with 18 goals. He is sixth in the Patriot League with 3.40 points per game, while he is tied for eighth with 1.80 goals per contest and is fifth with 1.60 assists per game. Kennedy is ranked 33rd nationally in points per game and 26th in assists per game. Earlier this season he was named the Division I Nike Player of the Week by insidelacrosse.com for his eight-point performance in the 15-14 overtime victory over defending America East champion and 2011 NCAA Tournament participant Hartford on Feb. 25. He was the first Crusader to win this award. Kennedy was also named the Anaconda Sports/Lids Team Sports New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Player of the Week and the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Week. He has 59 goals and 36 assists for 95 points in 40 career games.

The 12th annual Tewaaraton Award winners will be selected and honored on May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. The men's watch list features 82 players from 54 schools. Both lists will be narrowed to a leading group of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees in late April, with the five men's and five women's finalists to be announced in mid-May. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony.

The Crusaders return to action on Saturday, April 7, when they play Patriot League opponent Lafayette at Holy Cross Field at 4:00 p.m. for Senior Day.

2012 Tewaaraton Award Men's Watch List

Sean Aaron, Goalie - Union College
Brent Adams, Midfield - Fairfield University
Andrew Barton, Midfield - Providence College
Pierce Bassett, Goalie - Johns Hopkins University
Peter Baum, Midfield - Colgate University
Carter Bender, Attack - University of Hartford
Jesse Bernhardt, Long Stick Midfield – University of Maryland *
Anthony Biscardi, Midfield - University of Massachusetts
Chris Bocklet, Attack - University of Virginia *
Ian Braddish, Midfield - Hofstra University
Sam Bradman, Midfield - Salisbury University
Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia
Fergus Campbell, Goalie - Dartmouth College
Charlie Cipriano, Goalie - Fairfield University
Travis Comeau, Attack - Georgetown University
CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University
Kevin Cunningham, Attack - Villanova University
Bobby Dattilo, Midfield/Face Off - Hobart College
Nikk Davis, Midfield - United States Naval Academy
Tim Desko, Attack - Syracuse University
Daniel DiMaria, Defense/LSM - Harvard University
Tucker Durkin, Defense – Johns Hopkins University *
Billy Eisenreich, Attack - Bucknell University
Dante Fantoni, Attack - Lehigh University
Kyle Feeney, Goalie - Bucknell University
Tyler Fiorito, Goalie - Princeton University
Nick Galasso, Attack - University of North Carolina
Matt Gibson, Attack - Yale University
Rob Grimm, Attack - University of Maryland Baltimore County
Tim Henderson, Defense - United States Military Academy
Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina *
Curtis Holmes, Midfield - University of Maryland
Shayne Jackson, Attack - Limestone College
Sam Jones, Attack - United States Naval Academy
Grant Kaleikau, Attack - University of Delaware
Austin Kaut, Goalie - Penn State University
Jeff Keating, Attack - Roanoke College
Micah Keller, Attack - Hampden-Sydney College
John Kemp, Goalie - University of Notre Dame
James Kennedy, Attack – College of the Holy Cross * 
Roy Lang, Midfield - Cornell University
Chris LaPierre, Midfield - University of Virginia
Joe Lisicky, Defense - Lynchburg College
Jeffrey Lowman, Goalie - St. John's University
Eric Lusby, Attack – Loyola University *
Matt Mackrides, Attack - Penn State University
Greg Mahony, Midfield - Yale University
Will Mangan, Midfield – Rutgers University *
Will Manny, Attack - University of Massachusetts *
Mark Manos, Goalie - Drexel University
JoJo Marasco, Midfield/Attack - Syracuse University
Kiel Matisz, Midfield - Robert Morris University
Mark Matthews, Attack - University of Denver
Joel Matthews, Attack - University of Detroit Mercy
Jack McBride, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina
Kevin McCormick, Midfield - Tufts University
Brian Megill, Defense - Syracuse University
Bryan Neufeld, Attack - Siena College
Chris Nourse, Defense - Georgetown University
Robert Pannell, Attack - Cornell University
Mason Poli, Defense - Bryant University
John Ranagan, Midfield - Johns Hopkins University
Scott Ratliff, Long Stick Midfield – Loyola University *
Joe Resetarits, Attack - University at Albany
Connor Rice, Attack - Marist College
Jack Rice, Attack - Villanova University
Stephen Robarge, Midfield/Face Off - Virginia Military Institute
Dan Savage, Midfield - University of Pennsylvania
Michael Sawyer, Attack - Loyola University
Rob Schlesinger, Midfield - Brown University
Tom Schreiber, Midfield - Princeton University
Logan Schuss, Attack - Ohio State University
Steve Serling, Midfield - Hofstra University
Ryan Snyder, Face Off - Lehigh University
Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia
Garrett Thul, Attack - United States Military Academy
Jeff Tundo, Attack - Stony Brook University
Justin Turri, Midfield - Duke University
Kevin Vaughan, Midfield - Harvard University
Joe Vitale, Midfield - Adelphi University
Ben Waldron, Long Stick Midfield - Binghamton University
Chad Wiedmaier, Defense - Princeton University

* Denotes addition to original Watch List