Thomson Named A Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Dec. 30, 2008

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior men's hockey player Dewey Thomson (Northbridge, Mass.) has been named one of 20 candidates for the 2008-2009 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award as college hockey's outstanding NCAA Division I senior student-athlete for the men's hockey division.

The award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year in nine sports as it focuses on the "Four C's" of classroom, character, community and competition. This marks the third year for the hockey division of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Notre Dame goaltender David Brown was the inaugural winner in 2007 and Landis Stankievech of Princeton was named the award recipient in 2008.

"Dewey has one of the best characters of any player we have ever had here," said Holy Cross head men's hockey coach Paul Pearl. "I don't think he has the time to live a normal college kid's life with all of the hard work he spends on hockey, in the class room and in helping in the community. What he brings to the team as a leader and as a good example to his teammates is invaluable. He comes from a great family and you can tell by how mature and hard working he is."

Thomson has played in 99 career games with 13 goals and 19 assists for 32 points, including one goal and two assists this year. He had a career-best seven goals and nine assists for 16 points as a sophomore in 31 games. Thomson was also named the Crusader of the Week as a sophomore. As a freshman he scored two goals and had four assists for six points in 27 games on a team that won the Atlantic Hockey regular season and tournament championships and upset Minnesota in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. As a junior he had three goals and four assists for seven points in 33 games. He has been named to the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team in all three years.

From the list of 20 nominees, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award by early Feb. 2009. Those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote that will include coaches, media and fans. The award winner will be announced and recognized at the 2009 NCAA Frozen Four in Washington, D.C.

The Crusaders will return to action on Friday and Saturday, Jan. 2-3, when they travel to Denver, Colo., to compete in the Wells Fargo Denver Cup. On Friday, Holy Cross will meet tournament host No. 5 Denver at 9:30 p.m. (EST), while on Saturday the Crusaders will play either No. 3 Boston University or Rensselaer.

Lowe's Senior CLASS Award 2008-2009 Men's Hockey Nominees

Name                School
Brock Bradford      Boston College
Andrew Carroll      Minnesota- Duluth
Erik Condra         Notre Dame
Shane Connelly      Wisconsin
Matt Cook           Union
Corey Elkins        Ohio State
Sean Erickson       Connecticut
Chris Hahn          Maine
Trevor Hyatt        Alaska-Fairbanks
Mathias Lange       Rensselaer
Jeff Lerg           Michigan State
Brian McCafferty    Harvard
Zach McKelvie       Army
Zach Miskovic       St. Lawrence
Patrick Mullen      Denver
Jordan Pearce       Notre Dame
Zach Pelletier      Ohio State
Mike Phillipich     Air Force
Dean Strong         Vermont
Dewey Thomson       Holy Cross