November 8, 2005

Holy Cross Men's Ice Hockey Package To Air On WTAG

Nov. 8, 2005

Worcester, Mass. - Holy Cross and WTAG Radio announced jointly today that WTAG will broadcast 13 Crusader men's ice hockey games this year, the first time that the team has ever had a slate of games on commercial radio.

"Establishing a broadcast presence is the next logical step in the development of our hockey program," said Athletic Director Dick Regan. "We are very pleased to be expanding our relationship with WTAG to further this goal."

The Crusaders compete in the Atlantic Hockey Association, the champion of which receives and automatic berth in the NCAA tournament. Holy Cross made its first-ever NCAA hockey appearance by winning the AHA championship during the 2003-04 season.

The broadcast package will focus on Friday night games, as 10 of the 13 games are on Friday nights. The remaining three games are part of two-game road trips to Canisius, Mercyhurst and Army. In each of those cases, the Saturday night game between the two teams will also be broadcast on WTAG.

The package debuts with the game between HC and Mercyhurst from the Hart Center on Friday, November 11 at 7 p.m. - a battle between the AHA's top two teams in the early going. Mercyhurst is 5-1 (4-0 AHA), while Holy Cross is 4-1 (3-1 AHA).

Veteran announcer Dick Lutsk will handle the play-by-play duties on the broadcasts, joined by former Crusader Mike Maguire who will handle the color.

Lutsk is no stranger to Holy Cross, having handled some broadcast duties for Crusader basketball in the past few years. During his 35-year broadcast career he has done collegiate hockey for Harvard, New Hampshire and UMass-Lowell, as well as working two Beanpot Tournaments, in addition to his work with baseball and basketball. He is currently the play-by-play announcer for the Manchester Wolves of the Arena Football League.

Maguire is a 1999 graduate of the College, and was the Most Valuable Player of the Crusaders' 1999 MAAC Tournament championship team.

In addition to being on WTAG, all games in the package will be broadcast on the internet through the Sports Juice.com.

HOLY CROSS HOCKEY / WTAG 2005-06 BROADCAST SCHEDULE

Date	    Opponent           Time
Nov 11 (Fri)    Mercyhurst         7:00 pm
Dec. 2 (Fri)    at Canisius        7:00 pm
Dec. 3 (Sat)    at Canisius        7:00 pm
Jan 6 (Fri)     at Sacred Heart    7:00 pm
Jan 13 (Fri)    at Army            7:00 pm
Jan 14 (Sat)    at Army            7:00 pm
Jan 27 (Fri)    at AIC             7:00 pm
Feb 3 (Fri)     at Bentley         7:00 pm
Feb 10 (Fri)    Canisius           7:00 pm
Feb 17 (Fri)    at Mercyhurst      7:00 pm
Feb 18 (Sat)    at Mercyhurst      7:00 pm
Feb 24 (Fri)    Sacred Heart       7:00 pm
Mar 3 (Fri)     at Bentley         7:30 pm