Eleven Crusaders Named Academic All-Atlantic Hockey

July 19, 2005

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross men's ice hockey team has placed 11 players on the 2004-2005 Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team, as announced by the conference office. Overall, a total of 106 student-athletes were selected to the All-Academic team for the 2004-05 academic year, an increase of over 20 percent from the 2003-2004 total of 87 student-athletes.

The Crusaders who were named to the team include junior defenseman Marc Bianchi (Ithaca, N.Y.), junior goaltender Ben Conway (South Hadley, Mass.), senior defenseman Tony Coskren (Walpole, Mass.), sophomore forward Tanner Fogarty (McMurray, Pa.), freshman defenseman Brent Franklin (Grosse Point Farms, Mich.), junior forward Pierre Napert-Frenette (Bathurst, New Brunswick), senior goaltender Matt Norton (Pascoag, R.I.), sophomore defenseman Frank O'Grady (Kimberley, British Columbia), junior goaltender Tony Quesada (South Freeport, Maine), sophomore forward James Sixsmith (Alexandria, Va.) and senior forward Chris Sullivan (South Windsor, Conn.).

Of the 106 student-athletes that were recognized as members of the All-Academic team this season, 60 were members of the 2003-2004 squad, and 29 student-athletes were freshman. To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in each of the two academic periods during which his team was actively competing.

For a complete list of the 2004-2005 Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team, click here.