Brent Franklin Named Atlantic Hockey Top Scholar Athlete

June 25, 2008

Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross senior Brent Franklin (Grosse Point Farms, Mich.) has received the Atlantic Hockey Top Scholar Athlete Award, while the Crusaders placed 17 players on the 2007-2008 Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team, which were tied for the second most in the league. Franklin earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average this academic year to earn the honor along with Mike Field of AIC who also had a 4.0. Franklin also earned a spot on the Academic All-Star Team as a defenseman. He was the 2007-2008 Fenwick Scholar, which is the highest academic honor bestowed on a student at Holy Cross.

Franklin was joined on the team by senior Matt Burke (Milton, Mass.), freshman Matt Celin (Gibsonia, Pa.), sophomore Ian Dams (Manotick, Ontario), freshman Jamie Jelinek (Great Falls, Va.), junior Charlie Lockwood (Breckenridge, Colo.), sophomore Peter Lorinser (Marquette, Mich.), freshman J.P. Martignetti (Winchester, Mass.), junior Shane McAdam (Hamilton, Ontario), senior Bryce Nantes (Calgary, Alberta), senior Frank O'Grady (Kimberley, British Columbia), senior Dale Reinhardt (Livingston, N.J.), freshman Adam Roy (Feeding Hills, Mass.), freshman Everett Sheen (Lethbridge, Alberta), junior Dewey Thomson (Northbridge, Mass.), senior Matt Werry (Regina, Saskatchewan) and freshman Mark Znutas (Emerson, N.J.). O'Grady made the team for the fifth time.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic periods during which his team was actively competing. 129 student-athletes were named to the team this season marking a new record.