Seventeen Crusaders Named Academic All-Atlantic Hockey

June 15, 2006

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross men's ice hockey team has placed 17 players on the 2005-2006 Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team, as announced by the conference office. The Crusaders' 17 selections were the most of any team in the league. Overall, a total of 96 student-athletes were selected to the All-Academic team for the 2005-2006 academic year, with 31 players making their third appearance on the squad.

The Crusaders who were named to the team include senior defenseman Marc Bianchi (Ithaca, N.Y.), sophomore forward J.R. Butler (Marlborough, Mass.), senior goaltender Ben Conway (South Hadley, Mass.), sophomore defenseman Brent Franklin (Grosse Point Farms, Mich.), freshman goaltender Charlie Lockwood (Breckenridge, Colo.), freshman defenseman Shane McAdam (Hamilton, Ontario), senior forward Tyler McGregor (Ajax, Ontario), sophomore forward Bryce Nantes (Calgary, Alberta), junior forward Sean Nappo (Northville, Mich.), senior forward Pierre Napert-Frenette (Bathurst, New Brunswick), junior defenseman Frank O'Grady (Kimberley, British Columbia), senior goaltender Tony Quesada (South Freeport, Maine), sophomore forward Dale Reinhardt (Livingston, N.J.), junior forward James Sixsmith (Alexandria, Va.), freshman forward Dewey Thomson (Northbridge, Mass.), sophomore forward Jim Tselikis (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and sophomore forward Matt Werry (Regina, Saskatchewan).

Of the 96 student-athletes that were recognized as member of the All-Academic Team this season, 50 were members of the 2004-2005 squad, and 22 were freshman. To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team, an individual must have posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher during the 2005-2006 school year.

For a complete list of the 2005-2006 Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team, click here.