Tony Quesada Named A Semifinalist For 54th Walter Brown Award

Feb. 13, 2006

BOSTON, Mass.- Holy Cross senior goaltender Tony Quesada (South Freeport, Maine) has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the 54th Walter Brown Award as announced by Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president George Crotty. The award is presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

The winner will be announced in mid-March, and the award will be presented at the New England College Hockey Writers' dinner in April. The candidates include 12 players from Hockey East, two from the ECAC Hockey League, and one from Atlantic Hockey. The slate comprises four forwards, four goalies and seven defensemen.

Quesada is having an outstanding senior year with a 15-3-1 record and his .816 winning percentage ranks second in the nation, while the Crusaders have won nine games in a row when Quesada has been in net. He has a 2.23 goal against average and a .926 save percentage, as he has been named Atlantic Hockey Goaltender of the Week twice this season.

He currently owns Holy Cross all-time records for career save percentage (.914) and career wins (54), while he is tied for first all-time in goals against average (2.51). Quesada is second all-time at Holy Cross in saves (2376), games played in goal (94) and minutes played (5364:26). Quesada is the fourth Holy Cross player to be named a semifinalist for this award in the program's history.

First-place Holy Cross (20-7-1 overall, 16-5-1 AHA) will travel to Erie, Pa., to take on second-place Mercyhurst (18-10-0 overall, 16-6-0 AHA) on Friday and Saturday, February 17-18, at the Mercyhurst Ice Center. Only one point separates the two teams at the top of the standings as the Crusaders have 33 points and the Lakers have 32.

The other semifinalists are: Reid Cashman (Quinnipiac), Chris Collins (Boston College), John Curry (Boston University), Marvin Degon (UMass), Joe Fallon (Vermont), Torry Gajda (Providence), Peter Harrold (Boston College), Greg Moore (Maine), Cory Schneider (Boston College), Jaime Sifers (Vermont), Dan Spang (Boston University), Tom Walsh (Harvard), Brian Yandle (New Hampshire) and Brad Zancanaro (Boston University).

Commemorating the life and works of America's greatest sportsman, the Walter Brown Award is given annually to the outstanding American-born college hockey player in New England. The Walter Brown Award is the oldest nationally recognized honor accorded to individual players in the sport of American college hockey.

Brown coached the United States to its first world hockey championship in 1933. The U.S. team, the Massachusetts Rangers, comprised players from Boston College, Boston University, Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, Notre Dame, and Boston Commerce High School. The Americans defeated the Toronto Nationals 2-1 in overtime in the final game of the 1933 World Tournament at Prague, Czechoslovakia. It was also America's first win over a team from Canada.

The U.S. team members established the Walter Brown award at their 20th reunion in 1953. Criteria for the selection committee include leadership, character, sportsmanship, and ability as well as on-ice achievement. The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has been the steward of the Walter Brown Award since 1977.