Coskren Named Semi-Finalist for Walter Brown Award

Feb. 7, 2005

Worcester, Mass. - Senior assistant captain Tony Coskren (Walpole, Mass.) has been named as one of 15 NCAA Division One ice hockey players that are semi-finalists for the 53rd Walter Brown Award as announced by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

The defenseman is the only candidate nominated from Atlantic Hockey. He has posted three goals and added nine assists this season and to help the Crusaders rise to the tops of the conference standings.

Coskren is the second player from Holy Cross to be nominated for the Walter Brown Award. In 2002 Patrick Rissmiller `02 was nominated as one of 12 finalists for the award.

Joining Coskren on the list of semi-finalists are Ryan Shannon, Patrick Eaves and Andrew Alberts of Boston College, Tom Cavanagh, Dov Grumet-Morris and Noah Welch of Harvard, Jimmy Howard of Maine, Lee Stempnaik of Dartmouth, Bryan Schmidty of Merrimack, Sean Collins of New Hampshire, John Curry of Boston University, Jason Guerriero of Northeastern, Jaime Sifers of Vermont and Marvin Degon of Massachusetts.

The final selection for the 2005 Walter Brown Award will be announced in mid-March, with the formal presentation of the award at the New England Hockey Writers' Dinner in April.

Commemorating the life and works of America's greatest sportsman, the Walter Brown Award is given annually to the outstanding American-born college hockey player in New England. The Walter Brown Award is the oldest nationally recognized honor accorded to individual players in the sport of American college hockey. The members of the 1933 World Champion U.S. National Team established the award at their 20th reunion in 1953. Criteria for the selection committee include leadership, character, sportsmanship, and ability as well as on-ice achievement. The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston has been the steward of the award since 1977.