Three Crusaders On The Hobey Baker Award Fan Ballot

Jan. 12, 2009

Vote here

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross junior Brodie Sheahan (Lethbridge, Alberta), and sophomores Jordan Cyr (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and Everett Sheen (Lethbridge, Alberta) are on the Hobey Baker Fan Ballot on Fans can help determine the winner of the Hobey Baker Award as the game's top player. This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 8, 2009. Phase two of fan balloting will then begin on March 20 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans' vote accounts for one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates mimicking the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award's namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America's greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2009 include:

  • Top Ten list of candidates: March 19
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: April 2
  • Hobey Baker Award winner: April 10

    The 2009 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 10, 2009 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Washington, D.C. The 29th annual award announcement honoring college hockey's top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU.