Matt Czarnecki Named Patriot League Golfer Of The Year

April 23, 2007

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross junior Matt Czarnecki (Greenwich, Conn.) has been named the Patriot League Golfer of the Year, as announced by the conference office. On Sunday, Czarnecki became the first player in school history to win the Patriot League individual title, finishing the conference championship with a three-round total of 212 strokes (two-over par).

At the Patriot League Championship, Czarnecki carded rounds of 73 (three-over par), 68 (two-under par) and 71 (one-over par) to take first place by one stroke over Chris Renninger of Navy. Throughout the 54-hole tournament, Czarnecki recorded nine birdies to lead the field, while his score of 212 tied for the ninth-lowest score in Patriot League Championship history. Overall this season, Czarnecki averaged 75.6 strokes over a total of 17 rounds.

In addition to earning Patriot League Golfer of the Year honors, Czarnecki was also selected first team All-Patriot League. This is the second time Czarnecki has earned all-conference honors during his collegiate career, as he was previously named second team All-Patriot League during the 2004-2005 school year.

A complete list of Patriot League men's golf honorees for the 2006-2007 season follows.

Patriot League Player of the Year: Matt Czarnecki, Holy Cross
Patriot League Rookies of Year: Steve Suarez, Lehigh; Andrew Cohen, Bucknell
Patriot League Coach of Year: Jim Cotner, Bucknell

All-Patriot League First Team
Andrew Cohen, Bucknell
Matt Czarnecki, Holy Cross
Chris Renninger, Navy
Steve Suarez, Lehigh
Charles Waddell, Bucknell

All-Patriot League Second Team
Keita Aoki, Bucknell
Pat Beverly, Army
Matt Denison, Lehigh
Matt Hanlon, Army
Chip Hardie, Navy
Sam Walenz, Army