Men's Golf Opens Fall Season At Blue Devil Invitational

Tim DiStefano

Schedule: Sunday-Monday, Sept. 10-11 at Blue Devil Invitational, Wethersfield, Conn., 8:00 a.m.

  • The Holy Cross men's golf team begins the 2011 fall season at the Blue Devil Invitational, hosted by Central Connecticut on Sunday-Monday, Sept. 10-11. The competition will be held at the Wethersfield Country Club in Wethersfield, Conn. The squad has placed sixth out of 10 teams in its last two performances at the Blue Devil Invite, which were held in 2006 and 2010. Junior Steve Zychowski (Mendham, N.J.) paced the squad with a sixth place individual finish, combining for a two-round score of 147.
  • The 2011 Holy Cross men's golf team will feature five returning letterwinners, including Zychowski, senior Andrew Wong (Wailuku, Hawaii), junior Roberto Machado (Miami, Fla.) along with sophomores Matt Campbell (York, Maine) and Tim DiStefano (Albany, N.Y.). Wong was named the 2011-2012 team captain. As a junior, Wong tied for fifth place with a round of 77 at the Bison Invitational, which was the second best score on the team as Holy Cross tied for first out of 13 teams at the tournament. As a sophomore, he was the low scorer for Holy Cross and placed fourth at the Nichols Invite with a career-best 76. Also as a sophomore he tied for 36th at the NEIGA Championship with a two-round total of 155. 
  • After this past weekend's qualifier, a total of five new faces will join the 2011-2012 golf team. Freshman John Reali (Searingtown, N.Y.) headlines the newcomers as he was a four-year varsity letterwinner at Chaminade. While there he was named the CHSAA "Player of the Year" and was also a two-time team MVP.
  • Head coach Bob Molt returns for his 36th season as head coach of the Holy Cross men's and women's golf teams in 2011-2012. A graduate of Arizona in 1972, Molt took over the head coaching duties in 1976 from Holy Cross Hall of Famer Gerry Anderson. Under his tutelage, player Zychowski qualified to play in the 2010 United States Amateur Championship and earned his second first team All-Patriot League honor in the spring of 2011. Academically, his men's squad placed a league-best nine members on the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll while five women were named to the Big South Presidential Honor Roll.