Men's Golf Names Captains, Prepares For 2009-2010

Colin Andrade

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross men's golf program has named juniors Colin Andrade (Assonet, Mass.), Tim McGovern (Oradell, N.J.) and James Widman (Middlebury, Conn.) as 2009-2010 team captains.

Andrade was fifth on the team last season with an 82.5 average. He led the Crusaders at the Assumption Shootout with a round of 75 which was good for a third place finish. His round of 75 tied for the third best round of the season on the team. As a freshman he ranked fourth on the team with an 80.6 average and had the best score on the team at the NEIGA Championship with a two-round total 155 and at the Lou Flumere Invitational with a 79.

McGovern finished second on the team last season with an 80.9 average as he led the team four times in nine tournaments. His first round score of 74 at the Dartmouth Invitational was the second best round all season on the team. He finished first overall against St. Anselm with an 82. At the Patriot League Championship he tied with Widman for the best score on the team with a 238, to finish in a tie for 32nd place overall. McGovern shot a 78 in the first round, followed by a 77 in the second round and an 83 in the final round. As a freshman he was named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll.

Widman led the team last season with an 80.7 average. He posted the lowest score on the team four times in nine tournaments last season as his second round score of 70 at the MacDonald Cup was the best round on the team all season. He tied with McGovern for the best score on the team at the Patriot League Championship with 238, to finish in a tie for 32nd place overall. He shot a 77 in the final round, after carding a 79 in the second round and an 82 in the opening round. As a freshman he led the team with a 17th place finish and a score of 151 at the New England Division I Championship. For the season he had an 82.4 average.

Coach Bob Molt also congratulates the seniors who just graduated, Pat Brown, Brian Flood and Joe DePanfilis. "I want to send my gratitude and thanks to Pat, Brian and Joe for the leadership that they provided," said Molt.

The team is also looking to the 2009-2010 season. Along with the three captains, junior John Weber, and freshmen Mike McCarthy, Roberto Machado and Steven Zychowski are exempt from qualifying for the team and will be on the 2009-2010 roster. All other players off the 2008-2009 roster and prospective candidates for the team must qualify for the remaining spots on the roster. The qualifying tournament will be held on Sept. 5 and 6 at Heritage Golf Club. Play is expected to start at 1:00 p.m. each day but is subject to change. The qualifier will be played over 36 holes with medal play qualifying for three spots on the team. Players wanting to play in the qualifier for the team must have a handicap of 8 or less. This must be verified via a current handicap card or a letter from your club professional.