Maher & Schoepfer Named To All-New England Team

Nov. 29, 2006

WORCESTER, Mass. - Holy Cross junior wide receiver Ryan Maher (Boca Raton, Fla.) and senior offensive guard Andrew Schoepfer (Waterford, Conn.) have been selected to the 2006 New England Division I-AA All-Star team, as announced by the New England Football Writers. The two Crusaders were among 28 players from around New England named to the squad.

Maher was named first team All-Patriot League, after leading the team with 69 receptions for 797 yards and six touchdowns on the season. He also posted a team-best 1,092 all-purpose yards, while his 36 points scored tied for the second-most on the team. Maher easily led the Patriot League in receptions, with 20 more catches than anyone else in the conference, while his average of 6.27 catches per game ranked 10th in the nation. He also ranked second in the league and 34th in the country with an average of 72.5 receiving yards per game. Maher had over 100 yards receiving in a game three times this year, and made at least seven catches in a game on six occasions. In addition, he placed third on the all-time Holy Cross list for most receptions in a single season.

Schoepfer also earned first team All-Patriot League honors, after starting all 11 games for the Crusaders at right guard this season. He was the leader of an offensive line which paved the way for Holy Cross to lead the Patriot League in total offense (384.4 yards per game) and passing offense (271.5 yards per game). Schoepfer started the final 33 games of his Holy Cross career on the offensive line, while starting a total of 35 contests as a Crusader. Following the 2005 season, Schoepfer was named second team All-Patriot League, in addition to earning third team All-Northeast Region honors from Don Hansen's National Weekly Football Gazette. He also took part in the East Coast Bowl all-star game, in Petersburg, Va., on Nov. 25.

Holy Cross concluded the 2006 season with an overall record of 7-4, and placed third in the Patriot League with a 4-2 mark in conference games.

2006 New England Football Writers Division I-AA All-Star Team

DL Mike Berg, Harvard Sr.
DL Brandt Hollander, Yale Jr.
DL Matt King, Maine Sr.
DL Matt Campopiano, Northeastern Sr.
LB Zak DeOssie, Brown Jr.
LB Bobby Abare, Yale So.
LB Ryan Tully, Harvard Sr.
LB Jon Corto, Sacred Heart Sr.
LB Jason Hatchell, Massachusetts Jr.
DB James Ihedigbo, Massachusetts Sr.
DB Manauris Arias, Maine Sr.
DB Tracy Belton, Massachusetts Sr.
DB Virgil Gray , Rhode Island Sr.
P Steve Morgan, Brown Jr.

QB Ricky Santos, New Hampshire Jr.
RB Steve Baylark, Massachusetts Sr.
RB Clifton Dawson, Harvard Sr.
RB Justice Hairston , Central Conn. Sr.
WR David Ball, New Hampshire Sr.
WR Ryan Maher, Holy Cross Sr.
WR Ryan Fuselier, Dartmouth Sr.
TE Kendrick Ballantyne Northeastern Sr.
OL Ed McCarthy, Yale Sr.
OL Matt Austin, Massachusetts Jr.
OL Tucker Peterson, New Hampshire Sr.
OL Andrew Schoepfer, Holy Cross Sr.
OL Alex Miller, Massachusetts Sr.
RS Raji El-Amin, Rhode Island Jr.