Matt Partain Named A 2008 Draddy Trophy Semifinalist

Oct. 1, 2008

DALLAS, Texas - Holy Cross senior placekicker Matt Partain (Libertyville, Ill.) has been named one of 164 semifinalists for the 2008 Draddy Trophy, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. As a semifinalist, Partain also becomes a candidate for the 2008 National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Awards.

"The Draddy Trophy is one of college football's most sought after and competitive awards," said National Football Foundation chairman Archie Manning. "It recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership, and we're incredibly proud to select the next winner from this remarkable group of semifinalists."

In three games played so far this season, Partain has hit all 14 of his extra point attempts and his only two field goal attempts. Dating back to last season, he has now made 64 consecutive extra points, breaking the school record which had been held by Anthony Pignio with 58 straight extra points made from 1991-1993. A first team All-Patriot League selection in 2007, Partain hit 12 of 16 field goal attempts and connected on all 50 of his extra point tries a year ago, to lead the team in scoring with 86 points. Over the course of his Holy Cross career, he has now totaled 106 points, making 14 of 18 field goals and 64 of 64 extra points.

Draddy Trophy semifinalists are nominated by their schools, must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. Established to honor former National Football Foundation chairman Vincent dePaul Draddy, a Manhattan College quarterback who developed the Izod and Lacoste brands, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The National Football Foundation Awards Committee will select and announce up to 15 finalists on Oct. 29. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2008 National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Draddy winner, who will receive a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship, will be announced at the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 9 at the prestigious Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of more than $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

Holy Cross (1-2 overall, 1-0 Patriot League) returns to action on Saturday, Oct. 4, when it travels to Yale for a 12:30 p.m. game.


Air Force - Travis Dekker
Arizona State - Anthony Reyes
Arkansas - Jeremy Davis
Army - Lowell Garthwaite
BYU - Kellen Fowler
California - Alex Mack
Central Michigan - Brian Brunner
Colorado State - Jeff Horinek
Connecticut - Tyler Lorenzen
Florida - James Smith
Fresno State - Tom Brandstater
Georgia - Brian Mimbs
Georgia Tech - Darryl Richard
Houston - Thomas Ebner
Illinois - Ryan McDonald
Indiana - Austin Starr
Iowa - Matt Kroul
Kansas - Mike Rivera
Kentucky - Tim Masthay
Louisiana Tech - Quin Harris
Louisiana-Lafayette - Michael Desormeaux
Maryland - Daniel Gronkowski
Memphis - Brandon Pearce
Miami (Fla.) - Michael Byrne
Mississippi State - Anthony Strauder
Missouri - Chase Daniel
Nebraska - Todd Peterson
Nevada - Andy McIntosh
New Mexico - Zach Arnett
Northern Illinois - Jon Brost
Northwestern - Eric Peterman
Ohio State - Brian Robiskie
Ohio University - Michael Brown
Oklahoma State - Seb Clements
Oregon - Nick Reed
Oregon State - Andrew Levitre
Penn State - Gerald Cadogan
Pittsburgh - Conor Lee
Purdue - Ryan Baker
Rice - David Berken
Rutgers - Jason McCourty
South Carolina - Ryan Succop
Southern California - Jeff Byers
Syracuse - Ryan Durand
Texas - Chris Ogbonnaya
Texas A&M - Stephen McGee
TCU - Shae Reagan
Texas Tech - Graham Harrell
Troy - Will Chambliss
Tulsa - David Jo Johnson
UCF - Sha'reff Rashad
UCLA - Logan Paulsen
Utah - Louie Sakoda
Washington State - Vaughn Lesuma
West Virginia - Reed Williams
Western Michigan - Dustin Duclo
Wisconsin - Chris Pressley

Albany - Daniel Bocanegra
Appalachian State - Pierre Banks
Arkansas-Pine Bluff - John Keith
Austin Peay State - P.R. Morris
Bethune-Cookman - Ryan Griffin
Brown - Michael Dougherty
Bryant - Brian Donnelly
Bucknell - Kevin Mullen
Butler - Mike Bennett
Columbia - Phillip Mitchell
Dartmouth - Andrew Dete
Dayton - Bart Bergfeld
Eastern Illinois - Tyler Wilke
Elon - Tim Applegate
Hampton - Kevin Teel
Harvard - Andrew Berry
Hofstra - Nicholas Altomare
Holy Cross - Matt Partain
Illinois State - Kedric Meredith
Iona - Timmethy Mastrino
Lehigh - Brenden Van Ackeren
Maine - Ryan Canary
Marist - Jake Dembow
McNeese State - Brant Linde
Montana - Cole Bergquist
Morehead State - Nick Feldman
North Carolina A&T - Mike Christen
North Dakota State - Kole Heckendorf
Northeastern - Anthony Orio
Northern Arizona - Robbie Dehaze
Northwestern State - Dudley Guice
Princeton - Ryan Coyle
Samford - Mitchell Waters
San Diego - Patrick O'Neill
South Carolina State - Nygel Pearson
South Dakota State - Ryan Berry
Stephen F. Austin - Cory Long
Towson - Mark Bencivengo
Valparaiso - Ryan Koepke
VMI - Jacob Rochester
Wofford - Ben Quick
Yale - Casey Gerald
Youngstown State - Brad Samsa

Central Missouri - Adrian Singletary
Chadron State (Neb.) - Joe McLain
Delta State (Miss.) - Spencer Strickland
Eastern New Mexico - Michael Carrasco
Kentucky State - Ralph Warner
Minnesota State-Moorhead - Bryce Leggins
Minnesota-Duluth - Theodore Schlafke
North Alabama - Derrick Chatman
Northwest Missouri State - Joel Osborn
Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) - Zach Wright
Southwest Baptist (Mo.) - Clint Carroz
St. Cloud State (Minn.) - Ryan Kees
Virginia State - Devon Wiggins
Wayne State (Mich.) - Andrew Bates
West Texas A&M - Charly Martin

Amhert (Mass.) - Gregory Smith
Blackburn (Ill.) - Andrew Ott
Bluffton (Ind.) - Joel Sienicki
Carnegie Mellon (Pa.) - Brian Freeman
Carroll (Wisc.) - Maclane Philips
Centre (Ky.) - Neil Murphy
Chicago (Ill.) - James McAnelly
Colorado College - Billy Blaustein
Concordia (Minn.) - Levi DeVries
DePauw (Ind.) - Michael McNelis
Earlham (Ind.) - Drew Hosier
Franklin & Marshall (Pa.) - Paul Sousa
Gettysburg (Pa.) - Anthony Pastore
Middlebury (Vt.) - Andrew Matson
Millsaps (Miss.) - Nick Namias
MIT - James Oleinik
Moravian (Pa.) - Brian Reckenbeil
Mount Union (Ohio) - Greg Micheli
Pacific Lutheran (Wash.) - Neal Chalmers
Redlands (Calif.) - Zach Schafer
Rensselaer Poly (N.Y.) - Jimmy Roberson
Rochester (N.Y.) - Matthew Stack
Salisbury (Md.) - Matt Barnes
St. John Fisher (N.Y.) - Daniel Pollock
St. John's (Minn.) - Jeff Schnobrich
Thomas More (Kent.) - Tyler Grant
Trine (Ind.) - Joe Curtis
Trinity (Conn.) - Timothy Berry
Univ. of the South (Tenn.) - Tyler Brantley
Wabash (Ind.) - Brock Graham
Wartburg (Iowa) - Marcus Hemesath
Wash. In St. Louis (Mo.) - Buck Smith
Wisconsin-Eau Claire - Paul Bielmeier
Wisconsin-La Crosse - Chris Johnson
Wisconsin-Oshkosh - Dieter Juedes
Wisconsin-Whitewater - Michael Sherman
Wittenberg (Ohio) - Zach Brumfield

Bethel (Kan.) - Omar Hasan
Bethel (Tenn.) - Justin Dubruiel
Carroll (Mont.) - Zach Richardson
Cumberlands (Ky.) - Josh Frosch
Dakota State (S.D.) - Scott Sonne
McKendree (Ill.) - Ryan Klier
Morningside (Iowa) - Ryan Oetken
Northwestern (Iowa) - Kyle Oschsner
Ohio Dominican - James Dingus
Ottawa (Kan.) - Chris McClellan
Taylor (Ind.) - Jeremy Prudhomme
Union (Ky.) - Kyle Callahan