Holy Cross Football Team Concludes Spring Drills

April 19, 2008

WORCESTER, Mass. - Senior wide receiver Brett McDermott (Mansfield, Mass.) caught five passes for 51 yards and a touchdown and rushed twice for 33 yards, as the Holy Cross football team played its annual spring game at Fitton Field. The offense was able to total 286 yards on 62 plays from scrimmage, good for an average of 4.6 yards per play. The defense posted seven quarterbacks sacks on the day, in addition to posting an interception.

Senior quarterback Dominic Randolph (Amelia, Ohio) completed 10 of 16 attempts on the day for 151 yards and a touchdown, while sophomore quarterback Rob Koster (Bellerose, N.Y.) hit on seven of nine passes for 56 yards. Sophomore tailback Drew Volkmann (Pewaukee, Wis.) rushed nine times for 28 yards on the afternoon, and senior wide receiver Jon Brock (Acworth, Ga.) totaled three receptions for a team-best 92 yards.

On the defensive side of the ball, senior linebacker Ryan Stewart (Wayland, Mass.) led the team with five total tackles, while sophomore linebacker Brian Mauthe (River Vale, N.J.) added four tackles. Sophomore defensive linemane Mude Ohimor (Stoughton, Mass.) had a pair of sacks for 10 yards among his three tackles, and sophomore defensive back Anthony DiMichele (McKees Rocks, Pa.) finished with two tackles and an interception.

The Crusaders have now concluded spring practice, and are scheduled to open the 2008 season when they play host to UMass on September 6.

2008 Holy Cross Spring Football Game Statistics

Rushing (Att-Yds-TD): Brett McDermott (2-33-0), Drew Volkmann (9-28-0), Matt Jackson (2-8-0), Danny Bluth (2-6-0), Terrance Gass (2-5-1), Taylor Glor (2-4-0), Mike Kielt (2-3-1), Joe Kosich (3-(-8)-0), Rob Koster (2-(-9)-0), Dominic Randolph (4-(-12)-0).

Passing (Comp-Att-Yds-TD-INT): Dominic Randolph (10-16-151-1-1), Rob Koster (7-9-56-0-0), Joe Kosich (2-3-13-0-0), Taylor Glor (1-2-8-0-0), Ryan Taggart (0-2-0-0-0).

Receiving (No-Yds-TD): Brett McDermott (5-51-1), Jon Brock (3-92-0), Bill Edger (3-27-0), Tommy Fleming (2-15-0), Matt Jackson (2-12-0), Josh Nims (1-15-0), Josh Jenkins (1-5-0), Drew Volkmann (1-5-0), Paul Nielsen (1-3-0), Freddie Santana (1-3-0).

Punting (No-Yds): Mike Holloway (3-124), Rob Dornfried (3-106), Don Lemieux (3-103).

Extra Points (Good-Att): Matt Partain (2-2), Rob Dornfried (1-1).

Field Goals (Good-Att-Yds): Rob Dornfried (1-1-27), Matt Partain (0-1-40), Don Lemieux (0-1-33).

Tackles (Solo-Asst-Total): Ryan Stewart (3-2-5), Brian Mauthe (3-1-4), Sean Lamkin (3-0-3), Wayne Nesbit (3-0-3), Mude Ohimor (3-0-3), Perry Townsend (2-1-3), Dakota Allosso (2-0-2), Andrew Cialino (2-0-2), Alex Johnson (2-0-2), Nicholas MacDonald (2-0-2), Ty Shaw (2-0-2), Kyle Smith (2-0-2), Brian Billman (1-1-2), Daryl Brown (1-1-2), Anthony DiMichele (1-1-2), Rory Glowik (1-1-2), Jachin Leatherman (1-1-2), Kyle Mushaweh (1-1-2), Kevin Regan (1-1-2), Alex Carson (1-0-1), Mike Kielt (1-0-1), Marcus Morgan (1-0-1), John Myrick (1-0-1), Andrew Sherwood (1-0-1), Rory Sullivan (1-0-1), Bryan Walwyn (1-0-1), Niko Williams (1-0-1), Michael Wright (1-0-1), Mike Holloway (0-1-1), Quentin Liggins (0-1-1).

Sacks (No-Yds): Mude Ohimor (2-10), Sean Lamkin (1-11), Rory Sullivan (1-6), Marcus Morgan (1-5), Rory Glowik (1-4), Nicholas MacDonald (1-3).

Interceptions (No-Yds): Anthony DiMichele (1-27).