Football Announces Team Awards For 2004 Season

Feb. 12, 2005

WORCESTER, Mass. - The Holy Cross football team has announced its team awards for the 2004 season. The awards were presented at the team's annual banquet, held on Saturday, February 12, in the Hogan Campus Center.

Leading the award winners was senior tailback Steven Silva (East Providence, R.I.), who was named the 2004 Crusader Most Valuable Player. Silva led the Holy Cross offense with 708 rushing yards and 10 touchdowns on 161 carries, in addition to catching a team-best 60 passes for 507 yards and another score. A complete list of award recipients follows:

WTAG Offensive Player of the Year
Steven Silva

WTAG Defensive Player of the Year
David Fitzpatrick

WTAG Special Teams Player of the Year
Matt Bruckner

Davitt Awards (Presented annually to the top back and lineman on both offense and defense. They were instituted by Jim Davitt '13 of Holyoke, Mass., in memory of his brother, Rev. William Davitt '07, who played football and ran track while at Holy Cross, and was the last United States officer to lose his life in World War I.)
Offensive Back: Steven Silva
Offensive Lineman: David Cannon
Defensive Back: David Fitzpatrick
Defensive Lineman: Nicholas Nelthorpe

The Connor Award (Presented annually to the Holy Cross senior who, by a vote of the varsity squad, is named the person the players are most proud of as a teammate. It is given by the Holy Cross club of the Pioneer Valley.)
Matt Bruckner

The Unsung Hero Award (Presented annually to the player who has supported the team spiritually, emotionally and physically for the good of the team.)
Tim McDonnell

The Rick Carter Memorial Award (Presented to the senior who most exemplifies what coach Carter stood for and instilled in his student-athletes.)
David Mitchell

2004 Crusader Most Valuable Player (Presented to the person who his teammates feel was the most signifcant part of the team.)
Steven Silva