Holy Cross Places 20 On League All-Academic Team

Feb. 3, 2006

WORCESTER, Mass. - Twenty members of the Holy Cross football team have been selected to the 2005 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the league office. Leading the Crusaders were five seniors, in wide receiver Bryan Anderson (Shrewsbury, Mass.), linebacker Brad Grinna (Postville, Iowa), wide receiver Sean Gruber (Richwood, Ky.), tight end Matt Lane (Marlborough, Mass.) and defensive lineman Garett Roberts (Granville, N.Y.).

Other Holy Cross players named to the team were freshman linebacker Ben Bergholtz (Sorrento, Fla.), freshman offensive lineman Luke Botting (Hamilton, Ohio), sophomore defensive lineman Dana Buglione (Vestal, N.Y.), sophomore defensive lineman Will Collins (Shrewsbury, Mass.), junior placekicker Mike DeSantis (Belle Mead, N.J.), junior wide receiver Matt Fanning (Marlborough, Mass.), sophomore defensive lineman Doug Graiser (Kennesaw, Ga.), sophomore linebacker Will King (Pittsburgh, Pa.), junior defensive lineman Matt Lemire (Worcester, Mass.), sophomore wide receiver Justin Maher (Milford, Conn.), junior offensive lineman Bill McCarthy (Brick, N.J.), sophomore tight end Ryan McGuire (Woburn, Mass.), freshman defensive back Kyle Mushaweh (Woodbury, Conn.), junior linebacker Chris Nielsen (Center Line, Mich.) and junior offensive lineman Andrew Schoepfer (Waterford, Conn.).

A total of 94 student-athletes from football teams around the league earned spots on this year's Academic Honor Roll. To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a grade point average of 3.20 or better during the fall semester, and be a starter or key reserve on his team.

The Crusaders, who went 6-5 overall and 3-3 in the Patriot League last year, are scheduled to open spring practice on Wednesday, March 22.

For the complete Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in PDF format, click here.