Three Former Crusaders To Be Added To Football Ring Of Honor

Tom Greene

WORCESTER, Mass. – The athletic department at the College of the Holy Cross has announced that three former football standouts will be honored this fall, as the fourth class in the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor. Tom Greene (Class of 1959), Dave Quehl (Class of 1976) and Johnny Turco (Class of 1952) will all be honored in a ceremony at the game against Monmouth on Sept. 21, and receive permanent recognition at Fitton Field. The contest when the new members of the Ring of Fame will be honored will also be only the third night game in the history of Fitton Field.

Only former Crusader football players who have been elected to the Holy Cross Varsity Club Hall of Fame are eligible for this honor. The inductees were selected by a committee including representatives from the Holy Cross Athletic Department, the Gridiron Club Leadership Council, the Holy Cross Varsity Club and the Holy Cross Development Office, along with fan voting on With the addition of these three individuals, a total of 16 former players will now be included in the Ring of Honor.

Greene was the starting quarterback for the Crusaders in the late 1950s, earning first team All-New England honors in both 1957 and 1958. He led the team in passing (1,297 yards), total offense (1,381 yards) and scoring (45 points) during his junior season in 1957, and was again the team's leader in passing (976 yards), total offense (939 yards) and scoring (20 points) as a senior in 1958. Greene finished his career by completing 154 of 344 passes for 2,619 yards and 18 touchdowns, and still ranks as Holy Cross' all-time leader with an average of 17.0 yards per completion. Also a standout in the classroom, he received third team Academic All-America honors as a senior. In addition to his accomplishments in football, Greene was a first team All-New England selection in lacrosse, and earned Crusader of the Year honors for the 1958-1959 school year. After graduation, he went on to play in the American Football League for the Boston Patriots and the Dallas Texans.

Quehl still ranks as one of the top receivers in the history of Holy Cross, and earned first team All-New England honors during both his junior and senior seasons. He led the team with a then-school record 62 receptions for 801 yards and six touchdowns as a junior in 1974, then topped that by totaling a team-best 63 catches for 959 yards and five scores as a senior in 1975. Quehl caught 130 passes for 1,837 yards and 12 touchdowns over the course of his collegiate career, and held the all-time school records for both receptions and receiving yards at the time of his graduation. He also served as a team captain during his senior season, as was a two-time recipient of the Davitt Award as the team's top offensive back.

Turco was one of the top all-purpose players to ever wear a Holy Cross uniform. A scoring machine, he held school records for touchdown receptions in a season (nine in 1950), touchdown receptions in a career (15), points scored in a game (30 vs. Brown in 1950), points scored in a season (102 in 1950), touchdowns scored in a season (17 in 1950) and touchdowns scored in a career (29) at the time of his graduation. Turco also set records for average yards per reception in both a season (22.3 in 1950) and a career (19.7), which he still holds. Overall, he finished his collegiate career with 833 rushing yards, 829 receiving yards, 594 kickoff return yards and 447 punt return yards. Turco was also an outfielder on the 1952 Holy Cross baseball team which won the NCAA championship, and went on to play three seasons of minor league baseball. He passed away in 1960 at the age of 30, and since 1965 the annual Homecoming MVP award has been presented in his honor.

Individuals who have previously been inducted into the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor include Ronnie Cahill (Class of 1940), George Connor (Class of ex1946), Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986), Bruce Kozerski (Class of 1984), Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988), Pat McCarthy (Class of 1963), Jon Morris (Class of 1964), Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943), Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939), Vince Promuto (Class of 1960), John Provost (Class of 1975),  Jeff Wiley (Class of 1989) and Joe Wilson (Class of 1973).

Scan the QR Code below for two Crusader Loyalty points. If you are not signed up for the Crusader Loyalty Program go here to learn about the program and earn two points for signing up: